Little Holy Days {St Bartholomew}

Little Holy Days (Green)

Saturday (August 24) is the feast of St. Bartholomew.

Briefly, St. Bartholomew, was one of the disciples of Our Lord, sometimes referred to as Nathanael. After the first Pentecost he is said to have evangelized Asia Minor, parts of India, and Armenia. You can read more about him here!

Things to do:

Since this feast happens to fall on a Saturday and of course we already have TONS of stuff to do I’m probably going to keep things real simple. Even if we only end up doing just one of these things mentioned, or none as is possible, I really just want to be aware that this feast exists, and to if nothing else, pray the collect in the morning.

There’s a tradition in England of having a “bun race” on this day. Each participant in the race receives a currant bun. I don’t know about you, but any plan that involves my kids running off energy sounds like a good one. (I plan to make the “sweet bread” recipe from my bread-maker and substitute raisins for currants.)

St. Bartholomew is also associated with gingerbread, and somehow or other I’m going to try to work that in as well.

 

Collect for his day – Strengthen in us, O Lord, the faith, by which the blessed Apostle Bartholomew clung wholeheartedly to your Son, and grant that through the help of his prayers your Church may become for all the nations the sacrament of salvation. Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son, who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.

 

 

One thought on “Little Holy Days {St Bartholomew}

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

