Conversion Story {Part III}

Blessed Sacrament, Providence, RI
Blessed Sacrament, Providence, RI

The last part of the story… hopefully… To catch up on Part One click here, for Part Two click here.

So, there we were bumbling along having intense… um… discussions and attending Mass and going to classes. We made it to our first Confession. I don’t know if I have any profound thoughts on that. I was pretty much dragging my feet as much as I could before I went. I was stalling any way I could… had to put the kids to bed… had to clean up… it was raining (that actually was almost a valid reason I didn’t go because at the time the car didn’t have working windshield wipers… but that’s a different story). Anyways, I went. Right up until I got out of the car in the church parking lot, I was real nervous. Then I think I just resigned myself to the fact that I’d have to confess and went and got in line.

So freeing. Every time since that I’ve done it I get the same result. So freeing. I should do it more often.

We both made our First Holy Communion (in the Catholic Church) at the Easter Vigil!!! I was so excited. It was a huge challenge for me to go every Sunday to Mass and NOT receive the Eucharist. I was almost jumping up and down with excitement when we were able to go up. (I don’t have a picture of it though. The church was PACKED and everyone else we knew was squished in elsewhere).

Our parish, for whatever reason does Confirmation separately from First Communion (unless you’re also being Baptized at the Vigil than you do everything that night…?). Anyways, we weren’t confirmed that night, but after then we were able to receive Communion every Mass!

Classes continued for about six more weeks, another round of confession and a long rehearsal and we made our Confirmation at the end of May. I distinctly remember when they were processing in and they were almost to us, I had an almost overwhelming sense of the enormity of what we were about to do. I’ll be honest for a teeny fraction of second I had a “Wait!-This-Is-Forever” thought, and I was a bit nervous. Then the procession moved on and it was a beautiful service. (Here’s a link about our Confirmation Saints)

I guess that’s officially the end of our Conversion Story, in the sense that we were completely received into the Roman Catholic Church. However, the story doesn’t end there.

I was doing a make up session with one of the teachers, and it ended up being one-on-one because no one else showed up. It was during Lent, and I told her

I’ve been doing all these things, getting ready for Easter and First Communion, and moving towards Confirmation and I was a little sad, because that meant that we were going to be done, we were going to end. We’d be done with the classes, done with the studying and discussions. Done with learning about the Church… then it hit me. That won’t be the end. That will be the Beginning.

 

Here are a few photos from Confirmation. They aren’t the greatest pics ever, but they’re the only ones we have so I love them.

IMG_3774 IMG_3775 IMG_3776 IMG_3777 IMG_3778

2 thoughts on “Conversion Story {Part III}

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

