September 2013 Reads

20131002-141315.jpg

Really did not think I was going to make my “one book a month” quota this month. But I did !! Then I also managed to finish up a second book. So I just slightly passed the quota!

The Seven Storey Mountain by Thomas Merton. I feel like it took me FOREVER to read that book. And considering that I renewed it from the library and used the entire three week renewal period (plus the original three week rental period, totaling six weeks …. or a month and a half), yeah, it took me forever. But, it’s done now.

Thoughts on the book: Overall, there were a lot of great things said. I think what bogged me down a little was the extremely detailed first half of the book where he talks primarily about his “Pre-Catholic Life”. If it was just a straight “this happened, then this happened” it would have been a little easier to digest, but he goes into a lot of behind the scenes thoughts and feelings, if you will, of what was going on. It was all interesting, but it was a lot to keep up with.

I wouldn’t classify it as a hard read, but it was definitely not a “blow through the novel in two afternoons”-read.

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End by Jennifer Worth. I managed to finish up this book in between breaks from the above book. (Just needed something I could read in bed at the end of the day 🙂 ).

Thoughts on the book: This is the final part of the trilogy “Call the Midwife”, it’s set in the East End of London immediately after WWII. I really love how the book is made of stories. Real life stories of the people from that time and place. It’s not a strictly continuous story. There’s a bit of jumping from one story to another, but they all tie in a little to show overall what life was like then. And the author does a great job of capturing emotion (of the people, of the nurses, of everyone who’s involved in the event of the day).

There are a few graphic scenes in the book (at one point she does go into descriptive detail of a back-street abortion…. I was a tad bit queasy/or disgusted (not sure which) after that part), so just be forewarned.

2 thoughts on “September 2013 Reads

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

