October 2013 Reads

20131030-225359.jpg

Time for the monthly run-down of what books I finished reading in this past month. Usually I would wait until the month is over before writing this, because, you never know, I may finish something in the last day… But not this month. I currently am only a few pages into my next book and being the mommy-with-three + the Red Sox only nine six (in the time it took to write this) outs from winning the world series + a dentist appointment in the AM + work after that = not enough time to actually finish another book before tomorrow night…

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini. This is the fourth book of the Inheritance Series (or, the Eragon books, if like me, you didn’t know that’s what the series was called before this book). I’ll be honest, while I enjoyed the first book of the series a lot when I read it several years ago, this book seemed to drag a little. I really enjoyed the story, yes, but it almost got a little too wordy. It felt like a very predictable good vs. evil story, for example, I could have guessed the ending minus a few details. It’s a pretty long book, and that may have been part of my problem (I have a tendency to get bored once a book passes 300 pages or so). Geared for the young adult crowd.

Saint Monica and the Power of Persistent Prayer by Mike Aquilina and Mark W. Sullivan. (I actually did a book review for this book, you can read it here). I will restate: I LOVED this book.

A Time to Be Born by John Vornholt (Star Trek). Full on Sci-fi for this one. I initially thought I wouldn’t like it. The first chapter was, to me a little cheesy. But once I got into it, the story picked up and became better and more interesting. If you follow Star Trek at all (which, honestly, I don’t… just when Jared decides he needs a Star Trek fix) this book takes place after the Star Trek Enterprise tv series. Not sure how to describe it, because if you don’t know S.T. it won’t make any sense, but in a nutshell, it follows the Enterprise as they’re on a war-clean-up mission, things get hairy (like any good S.T. plot), things get MORE hairy, and then it ends. This is book one of a series. Guess I will be reading more Sci-fi in the near future.

{and can you believe, I made a comment at some point either earlier this month or last month where I said that I didn’t really read sci-fi and look here I read two, if not sci-fi, than at least two in the fantasy/sci-fi genre this month, with more in the upcoming future…}

My Sisters the Saints by Colleen Carroll Campbell. Oh. My. Goodness. Gracious. An absolutely beautiful story. It’s a spiritual memoir. It really follows her quest in “meaning to life”, and the help she receives as she learns about and draws closer to five particular women saints. It begins in her college years, and goes along with her father’s illness, her marriage and infertility, how she struggles to find the balance between career and being a woman. She is very open about all these struggles, but she’s also open with how much help she received from her “Sisters”.

I think I loved it because I myself am learning more about the saints and seeing someone else’s example of the how they are able to relate to saints is not only super duper encouraging, but again, so beautiful to see. (I know, that’s not much of a review, but this was an excellent book and if you have a chance to read it, you should!)

Linking up with Housewife Sprice, go there and check out more books that could be added to the ever-growing book lists. 🙂

WWRWbutton

4 thoughts on “October 2013 Reads

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

