Small Success Thursday {2}

I know, Thursday is past, but I really wanted to get back into visually seeing my blessings written down. (And I would have tried to do this last night, but I was exhausted.) It really helps me to refocus and realize that I have been blessed, even if sometimes the days are long.

The link at CatholicMom.com says “Gratitude is a Beatitude”, so these will focus on that.

1. God provided food. Quite literally, our neighbor dropped off a bag of food. They periodically do this. I don’t know where it comes from, I don’t ask, and I’m learning how to swallow my pride and accept with a smile. Potatoes, white bread, Greek yogurt, and cabbage… I can do SOMETHING with that.

Also, in the food category, my brother bought milk. When I told him that he didn’t have to do that, I could buy it, he just said “oh, it’s fine, besides you’re almost out” (I had completely failed to notice how low I was on milk).

20131115-074236.jpg

2. I’m thankful for my job. Specifically for the funds it brings to our home. Having a job itself adds a layer of stress to when I am home (it did before, and hasn’t changed really since I’ve been back). I read a post recently about working gratefully, and without complaining, even though you’d rather be home. That’s been playing in my mind, even as I complain about working. So, I guess this isn’t a “success” yet in my attitude, but the “grateful” part is, and I’ll continue to work on the complaining part…

3. My Children’s Example. Earlier this week, as part of our “school” we made a list of “Good things God gave {child’s name}”. They were filled with normal 3- and 4-yr-old things that they would count as good “books”, “bunnies”, “candy”, etc… And while those may seem like just ordinary things, I think it is good to remember that God gives us ALL things, even the ordinary, small, everyday, typically thought of as “not important” things. I’m grateful for my kids showing me that.

20131115-074721.jpg

Small-Success-Thursday-250px

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

