25/365 and a preschool art project turned lesson

20131125-215448.jpg

Today during our impromptu preschool session we made a Sacred Heart of Jesus. With my kids you only have to *think* anything that has the words: paint, glue, scissors, or paper and they’re all over it, ready to dive in.

Initially I figured this would just be something we did to further our study of the letter H (yes, BIG heavy things taking place in this preschool), but I realized about two minutes into said project that I didn’t really know much about the Sacred Heart. So I got out my phone and our Roman Missal and got me some education too.

I’ve always heard that when you teach, you learn, but I didn’t really expect that to happen today. It makes me very glad to have the opportunity to “teach” my kids at this stage in our lives, and makes me excited for our future learning.

As a side note: we also got in a reading lesson, complete with the writing portion! Katherine did great!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

