Feast of St. Andrew

Saint Andrew
Today was/still is the feast of St. Andrew.
Quick Facts:

  • Fisherman
  • Brother of Simon Peter
  • First a disciple of John the Baptist
  • After the Ascension of Jesus, he preached the Gospel in Greece, and in the areas around the Black Sea and beyond.
  •  Said to have been martyred on an X-shaped cross (that cross now known as  the “Saint Andrews Cross”)
  • Patron of: Scotland, Russia, unmarried women and fishermen.

In honor of fishermen, I decided to do a quick fish craft with the little ones this afternoon. Coffee Filter Fish Craft. It was very simple, and they turned out cute.

20131130-201028.jpg

For our meal tonight we had Swai Fish something. It started out using the recipe in Feast! by Daniel and Haley Stewart, but since I didn’t have any tahini on hand, I improvised sightly and added garlic. Still turned out delicious!

We didn’t get to reading about him in our books of Saints, the day got a little bit away from us. Tomorrow, maybe if I can find a few minutes I’ll read a little to the kids. I’ve found that trying to celebrate feast days on the weekends is much harder than doing it during the week. However, I was completely excited to be able to celebrate this feast with them by doing a little craft and having a special meal, doing special prayers and reading the gospel at dinner.

Collect:

We humbly implore your majesty, O Lord, that, just as the blessed Apostle Andrew was for your Church a preacher and pastor, so he may be for us a constant intercessor before you. Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son, who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.

Beginning today we start saying the Saint Andrew’s Christmas Novena (15 times a day until Christmas):

Hail and blessed be the hour and moment in which the Son of God was born of the most pure Virgin Mary, at midnight, in Bethlehem, in piercing cold. In that hour, vouchsafe, O my God! to hear my prayer and grant my desires, through the merits of Our Saviour Jesus Christ, and of His Blessed Mother. Amen.

{Photo of the fish in the Advent Wreath is #30/365}

2 thoughts on “Feast of St. Andrew

    1. I look forward to trying it sometime with tahini. Must pass on that I received a “this is the best fish you’ve made” compliment, many thanks again to you all for sharing!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

