Advent reading

Miracle on 10th street

When I first was thinking about what I was going to do and give up for Advent, I briefly thought about trying to read something specific. But then didn’t want to hold myself to anything. I heard about many people reading the story “The Twenty-Four Days Before Christmas” by Madeline L’Engle and thought to myself “well, there must be something to that book/story if everyone is reading it… maybe I should find a copy from the library, since I know I don’t own it”. Then I remembered a book I had “rescued” off the shelves at Savers a few years back. It’s called “Miracle on 10th Street: and Other Christmas Writings” by Madeline L’Engle. I scanned the table of contents and found, amongst other things the story “The Twenty-Four Days Before Christmas”, so Yay! I already own the story and I didn’t even know it. That happens to be the very last entry in the book, and since I’m not good a just jumping to the end of books, I decided to just start at the beginning.

It is a collection of little stories, poems, journal entries, and I think a few letters… all Advent/Christmas themed. The book is divided into six sections, labeled 1) Advent 2) Incarnation 3) Epiphany 4) Glorious Mystery 5) Redemption 6) Celebration. The entries are short, so perfect for picking up and reading just a few at a time (a must for a mama of little ones). There are many, many thought provoking things which I have found so far.

I am very glad I remembered this “rescued” book (and found it again in my bookshelf), I’ve been enjoying it. Below are some quotes:

And that perhaps, is the most astounding part of the whole story. God did not take Shadrach, Meshach, and Abendego out of the fiery furnace. God was in the flames with them. {From Miracle on 10th Street – pg 42}

God is always with us, even though He may tell us that an answer to our prayer is “NO”. Sometimes He doesn’t “rescue us” so to say, but He will be there in the fires with us. This is truly something that’s been water to my parched mouth.

~~~~~

And in a time like this
how celebrate his birth
when all things fall apart?
Ah! wonderful it is
with no room on the earth
the stable is out heart. {From Into the darkest hour – pg 47}

Jesus born into the stable of our hearts. Beautiful image of Jesus coming to us!

~~~~~

“Winter reveals structure.” Only as the structure is firmly there are we able to dress it with the lovely trappings of spring, budding leaves, rosy blossoms. {From Revealing Structure – pg55}

 

Linking up with

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

