Advent wrap up

Before Advent is too far in the past, I wanted to take a minute to wrap up how Advent went overall, especially in the “unplugged” department.

So, what did I learn:

1. That my house actually can be cleaned in a timely manner, but I can’t have Facebook on my phone. It’s took me almost all of those weeks of Advent to get used to not having 24/7 access to my FB account. And now that I’m on the other side of it (still no FB app on my phone), I don’t think I want to go back. I still like checking in, but I don’t feel a pull like I used to. I’m less stressed because I’m not trying to do something around the house (i.e. clean up or read a book with the kids) WHILE at the same time endlessly scrolling through people’s posts.

2. That my patience is actually findable when I’m not trying to keep in constant touch with the social world.

3. I ended up doing some reading after all, which ended up being good. I think I’ve decided that God can speak to me through books if I’m willing to listen.

4. I did a lot of “being quiet”. Not in the sense that I stopped talking (I’m not an outgoing talkative person), but in the sense that I was able to “still my mind” and listen. Listen to God, and to my husband and to my children. In a sense to be less distracted. It’s good to get that practice in, because I have some amazing people in my life who too often aren’t listened to wholeheartedly just for the sake of “distractions”.

I think that’s about it. I want to thank Haley for putting us all up to this! It’s been eye opening to see the negative impact social media has had on my personal family space (impact I didn’t even know was there), and now that I’m aware of it, I hope to keep the negative-ness away and focus instead on the positives.

AdventUnplugged
~Ruth Anne

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

