Book Lists 2013

hi-tech list making right here!
Hi-Tech list making right here!

I was originally going to do this post in a straight list format, but decided I’d actually post a few books which were my favorites then just list out the rest. With a few exceptions, I made a separate blog post of the books I read every month. However, since I switched blog addresses part way through the year, some of the posts aren’t on this address. Anyway, I’ve linked them all at the bottom, if you’d like to check them out.

Favorite Reads in 2013 (in no particular order)

* A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons – George R.R. Martin. Both of these are from the Song of Ice and Fire Series (more commonly known as Game of Thrones Series). I love the story. I think one thing I love so much is that the characters are real. The “bad guys” come up with moments of goodness, and the “good guys” still have faults and failings. No one (so far) is perfectly good or perfectly evil (well, except maybe Joffrey, but he’s been taken care of now, so that’s fine…). I keep finding myself asking “what happens next?” then answering “Oh, I’ll just read the next book”. Then I’ll promptly remember that the next book isn’t out yet. So, boo. {A side note: The HBO series loosely follows the books, and if you’re trying to compare them and use the books as guidelines, it gets really messy and mixed up. I prefer to just enjoy them separately.}

* The Penderwicks  by Jeanne Birdsall. Loved this children’s series about this family of four sisters and their adventures! They’ve gone on my “want to purchase” list of books. I look forward to reading them with the kids in the next few years.

The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis. Not sure if I can really explain why I loved this book so much. Very thought provoking. It was a very quick read so if you have a chance you should definitely pick it up. I think it may be getting a reread soon.

* Call the Midwife Series by Jennifer Worth. Can’t say how much I love these books. I love the stories of people. I love the stories about birth. For a brief period while I was in school I was in the nursing program with the intention of going into midwifery, so books on the subject hold a special place in my heart.

* Heaven’s Song by Christopher West. A book on Blessed John Paul II’s teaching on the Theology of the Body. The book was very dense, with tons of things to think on and ponder. I could probably read it again and get something totally different out of it.

* A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn. I worked on this book for what felt like months. If I say I enjoyed reading it, I’d be lying. But, getting some of the background of history was well worth it. My U.S. history is patchy at best, so it was nice to get more info on “what happened”. I probably won’t be adding any more history books to a reading list anytime soon. Unless they’re in memoir format or something.

Other books read in 2013 (I enjoyed most of these too. Some were hard reads, but I don’t think there was anything that I disliked).

* Signs of Life – Scott Hahn (a book finished this year, started last year)
* The Iliad – Homer (also finished this year)
* Inheritance – Christopher Paolini (finished this year). Side note: this was probably my least favorite book that I read
* Why do Catholics Eat Fish on Friday? – Michael P. Foley
* The Screwtape Letters – C.S. Lewis
Stealing Mona Lisa: A Mystery – Carson Morton
*  My Sisters the Saints – Colleen Carroll Campbell
* The Seven Storey Mountain – Thomas Merton
* The Pillar of Fire – Karl Stern
* The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency (Book 1) – Alexander McCall Smith
* Designing Your Own Classical Cirriculum: A Guide to Catholic Home Education – Laura M. Berquist
* Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen – This book is in the process of  a re-read for the “Jane Austen and Motherhood” group I’m participating in for the upcoming year.
* The Nanny Diaries – Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus
* Hail, Holy Queen – Scott Hahn
* Why Kids Matter – Johann Christoph Arnold
* Ella Enchanted – Gail Carson Levine
* The Midwife’s Apprentice – Karen Cushman
* Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
* Betsy and Tacy Go Downtown – Maud Hart Lovelace. I’d love to get the rest of the series now!
* (Star Trek) A Time to Be Born – John Vornholt (Read at the request of my husband. I enjoyed it rather more than I thought I would 😀 )
* A Woman Clothed with the Sun – Edt. John J Delaney – A book about the apparitions of Our Lady. Very informative and well put together for someone coming with almost no knowledge on the subject.
* Shopaholic & Sister – Sophie Kinsella
* Miracle on 10th Street – Madeline L’Engle (for Advent)
* Lucia Child of Light: The History and Tradition of Sweden’s Lucia Celebration – Florence Ekstrand. Full of info for St. Lucia’s Day celebrations. Definitely keeping in on file for next year… Now, to remember to check it out from the library BEFORE St Lucia’s Day…
* The Best Christmas Pageant Ever – Barbara Robinson. A reread. I was going to read it with the kids, but there was too much going on, so I passed on it this year. Next year though!
* The Clutter-Busting Handbook – Rita Emmet. My very, very first book read “cover to cover” on a kindle. I used to not be a fan of reading on the eReaders, but since hubby got one for Christmas, I decided I must try it…. so much better than trying to use the Kindle app on a phone! So, now I can add some books to there that I don’t own, but are available in the free domain markets. Win-win!!
* The Gift of the Magi – O. Henry. Ok, not a real book, but I read the story for the first time, and thought I’d include it.

{Updated 12/29/13 – because I forgot to include the books I reviewed….}

* Saint Monica and the Power of Persistent Prayer – Mike Aquilina and Mark w. Sullivan (excellent book)
* Sisterhood of Saints – Melanie Rigney. I didn’t read every single word of this one, as it’s a 365 daily devotional. But what I did read was excellent and I plan on continuing using it in the coming year.
* Small steps for Catholic Moms – Danielle Bean and Elizabeth Foss. I didn’t review this one, but forgot to include it in the previous list. It’s also a 365 daily devotional. Also excellent!

Books read out loud to the kids. Planning on continuing this in the coming year. Open to suggestions. What have your 3- and 4-year olds loved listening to?
* Little House in the Big Woods – Laura Ingles Wilder
* Charlotte’s Web – E. B. White
* Little House on the Prairie – Laura Ingles Wilder
* Kirsten’s Surprise: A Christmas Story – Janet Beeler Stall {An American Girl book}

Links to books read by month:

Jan/Feb (yes, one post because I didn’t think to start the monthly posting until February)
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
{No post for November because I only read one book, which I finished on the 30th, and I never got around to posting on it. No post for December because I’m doing this post, the last seven entries in the “list” were read in December}

That’s all for now. Will be posting a 2014 Reading List some point soon!

~Ruth Anne

Linking up with Haley @ CarrotsForMichaelmas:

WhatIReadIn2013

Also linking up with Modern Mrs Darcey for the favorites of 2013!

8 thoughts on “Book Lists 2013

  1. Ooo, I like your plan to break it down by month! Really wasn’t familiar with the Penderwicks before, but since seeing it on a few lists I’m excited to check it out!

    1. It wasn’t totally intentional to break it down by month (as in I didn’t set out to read this book this month and that book in that month). I really set out with a simple “read one book a month” goal, but challenged myself to “report in” so I wouldn’t get too lazy.
      Yes! Go check out the Penderwicks! They were so much fun 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by
      ~ Ruth Anne

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

