Reading List 2014 + tips

20140101-114609.jpg

Hello all! Happy first day of 2014.

I have been jumping to write this post since my sister gave me the little journal (pictured above) for Christmas. I think I probably took it to the extreme and added way too many books to the “read in 2014” list, but oh well. I love the book. I do so much better having a physical paper and pen list than something on my phone, plus the book is small enough to tuck into my purse and carry with me so if I ever happen to be at a thrift store and want to check on a specific book I can.

First the tips (They work for me. If something else works better for you though, go for it!!):

1. Not to “schedule” books by month

Last year I made a list (on paper) and noted the date when I finished it. I didn’t make any book  a priority or “must read in {specific month}”. My goal was simply to finish one book a month. I like the idea of not sticking to a “schedule” because I tend to list my books by category. This is caused by me going through my bookshelves, which are slightly more organized now so books are better grouped, and finding say five books on Catholicism that I want to read and add all five in order on my list. What happens in reality is that once I read one of those books, I usually need to change things up a bit and read a different genre. I guess you could say I have “reading ADD”.

2. One (or two, max) at a time

I also have “reading ADD” when I read a really long book (600+ pages). I start to get bored so I want to start another book. I then read two at once and don’t finish either very fast, then I get bored again and start another book and the cycle continues until I end up with five or six books that I’m reading and not finishing. This is why I really try to read one at a time. The only exceptions I’ll make is to have something light to read in the evenings…. really who can process Homer at 10:00PM? {And if you can, then more power to you, but this mama just can’t quite make that happen 🙂 }

3. List ’em all

I found that actually making a list of ALL the books I wanted to read was super helpful, even if they’re novels or something light. I get very motivated by having a “set” list of books that I want to finish by end of the year, and I found myself grabbing a book that I may have been putting off (especially due to length or difficulty) and pushing myself. I know that it was due to having a list, and knowing that I could “check it off” once I was done with it. Very satisfying to finish things. This is not to say that I actually stuck to my list in complete rigidity. There were a good number of books that I read last year that I never added to my list, so nothing is set in stone here.

THE LIST (in no particular order):

* Anne of Green Gables (series) – L. M. Montgomery
* The Odyssey – Homer
* Wives and Daughters – Elizabeth Gaskell
* Road to Cana – Anne Rice
* Out of Egypt – Anne Rice
* Les Miserable – Victor Hugo (here’s hoping…)
* The Lamb’s Supper – Scott Hahn
* Jesus of Nazareth – Joseph Ratzinger
* Catholic for a Reason – Edited, Scott Hahn
* Pride and Prejudice (re-read), Persuasion, Sense and Sensibility, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen. These are for the Motherhood and Jane Austen book club (button on the right side bar).
* Orthodoxy – G.K. Chesterton (This one was on the list last year, but never got read)
* A Catholic Christmas – Kathleen M. Carroll
* Walking with Mary: A Biblical Journey From Nazareth to the Cross – Edward Sri
* Pope Awesome – Cari Donaldson (I will get my hands on this book real soon. I keep hearing how amazing it is, but have yet to get mine. Soon!)
* The Father’s Tale – Michael D. O’Brien (a lady at Church lent me this book last year, and I didn’t read it. I know nothing about it except she thought it was good enough to pass on. The other books she passed to me were great, so I’m looking forward to this)
* Called Out of Darkness – Anne Rice
* Saint Thomas Aquinas: The Dumb Ox – G.K. Chesterton
* Kristen Lavransdatter: The Cross – Singrid Undset (This one was also on my list for last year, but never got read. The first two of the series took me a while to finish, so I didn’t want to borrow from the library. I now own it, but haven’t made it past the first chapter… had too much going on right when I started reading it. This year!!)
* Simplicity Parenting –Kim John Payne and Lisa M. Ross (Also on 2013 reading list that didn’t make it)
* The Life of St. Teresa of Jesus – St Teresa of Avila (I put this one on the list so I wouldn’t forget about it. I downloaded it to the kindle, and I tend to forget about things I download, so we’ll see)
* A Mother’s Rule of Life – Holly Pierlot
* C.S. Lewis: A Life – Alister McGrath (received this for my birthday, looking forward to the read).

And since I’ve already started this one:
* Einstein Never Used Flash Cards – Kathy Hirsh-Pasek and Roberta Michnick Golinkoff
And rented these from the library:
* A Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making; The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There; The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two – Catherynne M. Valente

They’re added to the list too.

~~

And, that looks like a too long, too much to handle list now that it’s all written out. We’ll see how it goes! I’ll probably keep doing my “monthly reads” post to keep myself accountable. That was a huge motivator last year 🙂

Happy Reading to All!

~Ruth Anne

 Linking up with Haley’s Reading Goals for 2014!

 

 

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

