Still Life Photo Project – week 1 {take 1?}

This here is my first post for the Frugal Still Life Photography Project over at Cheryl McCain Photography I’m doing for the next few weeks. I was rummaging through my closet/box of material scraps when I came across a piece of burlap. Don’t know where it came from, but magical stuff happens when you dig into the dark depths of forgotten items… Anyways, I was looking for something else (don’t remember even what it was now), found the burlap, and thought that it would make a great backdrop/background for a still life photo. I didn’t have a clear direction on what I wanted to photograph at the moment I found it, so it sat around for a few days.

Last night I found a few minutes and really tried to think of what I could take a picture of. I found some dried flowers laying around, remembered a few other dried plants that have been saved for one reason or another. I laid the burlap on my counter under harsh florescent lights and grabbed a few shots before the boys decided 9:27 PM was a fine time to get out of bed, ask for a drink, and a snack, and a story, you know, the usual.

{1}

single rose (small)
f/2.8, 1/400 s

I edited this to desaturate the “yellow”; increased saturation of the “reds” and lightened everything

{2}

crossed tripple (small)
f/2.8, 1/400 s

Again, desaturated “yellows”, slight boost in “reds”, just a little reducing contract and increasing overall brightness.

{3}

tripple straight (small)
f/2.8, 1/400 s

This was the last one I did, but I don’t remember exactly what it was I did. I think about the same as the ones above.

And there’s my first attempt at “Still Life Photography”. Maybe I’ll get a few more practice sessions in this week 🙂

~Ruth Anne

A few lessons learned:
* Don’t, don’t, don’t, don’t, DO NOT shoot under florescent light, just makes the pictures….. *icky*
* Don’t wait to take pictures until 9:30 at night.
* Use a smaller f-stop. There were a few shots I took, that when I went back to edit, didn’t turn out like much because the focus was “off”
* Think just a little bit more about composition.

20 thoughts on “Still Life Photo Project – week 1 {take 1?}

  1. Oh Ruth Anne, LOVE your burlap. I use mine quite often. Love the dried flowers you used and totally get it about the florescent light! I did the SAME thing lastnight on shooting some rolodex altered cards. YUCK! However, I was able to correct them in Lightroom and if I’d been thinking beforehand (like I should’ve been), I could’ve changed the setting in my camera! Geesh!
    At any rate, I think you did a wonderful job!!

    1. Thank you so much! Completely forgot that I could change camera settings in-camera. And I’ll definitely be keeping that burlap around for other handy backgrounds
      ~Ruth Anne

    1. Definitely learned my lesson, it’s one of those things I *knew* somewhere in the back of my mind, but didn’t really consider while taking the picture.
      Thanks for stopping in!
      ~Ruth Anne

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

