homemade pre-fold cloth diaper

I wanted to move a couple of posts over from the “OLD” blog to this new one. Especially ones that seem to be generating some interest out there in the internet world and since I have nothing else lined up to post today I thought I’d go ahead and do this one!

This was first publish in February 2013:

~~~~~~~~~~

20140108-155700.jpg

I have been thinking a lot recently about making my own cloth diapers (and cloth wipes). Especially since we always seem to scrounging for extra $$.

I primarily use pre-folds (the kinds with diaper pins and a diaper cover). Its what I grew up seeing my mom use. And they’re the cheapest to purchase (decent ones come to about $2/each). And to me, they seemed like they would be the easiest to make (me with my extremely limited sewing knowledge and ability…).

The diaper I made is based loosely off the pattern from this site. I used it because it was the first I found that gave directions to make a diaper using old T-shirts… which I have plenty and more of.

Following are directions for a 4x8x4 regular sized (as opposed to toddler or newborn) pre-fold cloth diaper, made with flannel and a T-shirt.

First:

Cut 4 pieces of cloth 18in x 18in

I used one old T-shirt to cut two 18in squares and I used a piece of flannel material that I purchased at Savers (for $0.99!!) to cut two more pieces.

20130206-145712.jpg

(T-shirt on left, flannel on right)

Second:

Place two of the squares together and fold over so the flannel is on the outside

20130206-145720.jpg

Third:

Overlap rectangles (open sides to the outside) until desired width and pin together. I overlapped mine until I had approximately 4in on either side and 5in in the middle.

20130206-145730.jpg

Fourth:

Sew down the row of pins with a straight stitch. (The straight stitch on my sewing machine doesn’t like me, so I used a loose zig-zaggy one [I know not a technical term]) Make sure to get through all eight layers/overlapped parts.

Then zig-zag stitch around the edges. I have no idea if my machine has a serge capability, so I don’t know if that works better.

20130206-145739.jpg

I was using the method of “sew around the edges so it doesn’t come apart” aka “whatever stitch I can find that works”.

Then you’re done!!

Couple of notes:

All material that is used should be 100% cotton. (Non-cotton diapers can hold the stink of the diapers worse than all cotton).

I like the flannel on the outside because I feel like its 1) softer and 2) absorbs a little faster/better than a T-shirt

I was able to get three diapers out of the piece of flannel that I bought. All T-shirts were laying around the house (free). So that works out to approximately $0.33/diaper. Or almost 85% off the cost of a purchased pre-fold. Works for me :)

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

