Book Review: Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

Dear Mr Knightley.cover

Dear Mr. Knighley by Katherine Reay follows the story of Samantha Moore, a young woman in her early twenties who has spent her life hiding inside her books. She has accepted a grant to attend Norhtwestern University to persue a masters in Journalism. She does not know the identity of her benfactor. The only things he asks of her is that she write him progress letters of her time at the university.

When I first began reading the book, I found myself getting very frustrated with Sam. Quite possibly this was intentional on the author’s part, but just a possible was the fact that I have a tendency to get very involved with the characters in a book that I’m reading (ironic, huh?). Once I got past the first few chapters, I totally fell in love with this book. I found myself cheering Sam on in her successes, and cringing when I could see a mistake coming.

This is most definitely a love story. A story of a young woman, not only finding her way in life, but finding her way in love. Not the “sappy romance” kind of love, but True Love. The love of a family, yes, but I think, even though it’s not specifically stated that love will bring her to the True Love of Christ.

Such a delightful read. I haven’t read a “modern” novel written for adults for a while, and it was nice change of pace. I also very much enjoyed the format. I found that reading journal-entry length “chapters” fit very well with my pick-up/set-down (repeat) reading times. 🙂

~~~~~
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One thought on “Book Review: Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

  1. Thank you so much for the lovely review. You are right — I did try to make, and I found, Sam challenging at first too… How to make a young woman open up when clearly she WOULD not do so naturally? The trouble of fully believing the novel should be only letters 🙂 Glad you feel it worked. I had fun with it!

    Thank you again!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

