Moments of Grace {1}

Moments-of-Grace-Logo

Thanking God for….

~ A few moments of quiet in the morning before the kids wake up
~ Food in our refrigerator
~ Sunny days
~ That unemployment is finally kicking in
~ Katherine being able to do simple reading
~ Potty training Karl (a definite work in progress, but we’re getting there!)
~ Swagbucks to pay for Amazon gift cards

Praying for…

Peace in my heart; my husband; my brother; my sister-in-law who broke her wrist last week (and has two little ones at home to care for) and my other brother who has to figure out how to manage school, work, and taking care of the kids while his wife has a broken wrist; learning how to listen to others instead of just argue

Listening to….

My boys playing in their room (yup they woke up since I began this post)

Reading…

The Happy Wives Club – Fawn Weaver (doing a book review on this once I finish). So far greatly enjoying this one!
Praying for Your Husband from Head to Toe – Sharon Jaynes (also doing a review on this one). I honest and truly didn’t set out to read books about marriage this year. But, it seems to be very much things I’m needing to hear lately.
Mansfield Park – Jane Austen
(so much for one book at a time…)

Pondering…

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos into order, confusion into clarity…. It turns problems into gifts, failures into success, the unexpected into perfect timing, and mistakes into important events. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.

~Melody Beattie (quoted in The Happy Wives Club)

Look What I Found…

How Common Core Devalues Great Literature by Anthony Esolen. I’m pretty sure we had already set in stone that we’re going to homeschool our children once they reach the appropriate age, articles like this though just confirm that decision. (Oh, and I realized that the author teaches at a local college)

Looking Ahead…

My dad’s birthday, working today, making cookies with the kids and the neighbors at some point this weekend, St. Valentine’s Day

Captured…

20140210-071927.jpg

I turned around and she had her arm around him. Not staged at all. They were just sitting that way. I love how great of friends they are.

Now off to begin my Monday!
~Ruth Anne

Linking up at Plain Grace.

9 thoughts on “Moments of Grace {1}

  1. Hi Ruth Anne. So happy to see your link at Plain Grace. That quote from “Happy Wives Club” is awesome! I quickly found the favorite quotes section in my binder to write it down. Thank you so much for taking the time to share it.

    I love those few moments of quiet before the kids wake up. I tell God frequently, “If you wold let the kids sleep a little later, I would go to bed earlier.” I need some quiet time and I don’t find it in the morning, I steal it at night!

    1. I’m usually too tired at night to steal many moments, although *usually* the kids are in bed relatively early so I get a little bit of time. I’m starting to enjoy the quiet mornings though. A LOT.
      So glad you enjoyed the quote!
      ~Ruth Anne

  2. That is the sweetest photo, and homeschooling will make them even closer to each other. And when they are grown and out in the world, they will look out for each other.

    Prayers for you and your family…

  3. What a beautiful photo.
    I so yearn for siblings for my son. The Lord only blessed me with one and at 50 there is little hope, unless through adoption.
    Sigh.
    That said – Loved your daybook.
    We all have so much in common. The purposeful quiet moments.
    Homeschooling. Being Holy Wives.
    God Bless you.
    Emily

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

