Answer me this! {3}

Time for another edition of Answer Me This. This week, the linkup is over at Carrots For Michaelmas. I was debating whether or not to do one this week, since yesterday kinda fell apart on me (or I fell apart on it, however you choose to look at it). In the end, all was well, even though I did have a minor breakdown in my midwife’s office. But a wiggly baby on ultrasound combined with correct measurements of *stuff* finally got me calmed down. I do thank everyone again for the prayers that were offered.

See? Nice healthy baby
See? Nice healthy baby

Onto the preguntas!

1. What’s the scariest thing that’s ever been in your yard?

For the most part I have a pretty unscary yard. Probably the most worrisome to me on a daily basis is this guy:

Complete with his real, mini-hoe given by Papa just over a week ago. Heads, faces, bare feet, etc… are what worry me. That and this guy is all of three (3) years old and just doesn’t think about how close or far someone is from his swinging merryment.

I know, he's got a helmet on.... that's not normally the case
I know, he’s got a helmet on…. that’s not normally the case

The only other thing I can possibly think of is, last summer, one of our “neighbors” (behind our house and few over, so not technically someone I know) decided to try out some sort of gun-thing in his back yard. Not like a HUGE gun, but something like an air-gun. Wouldn’t have bother me so much if he hadn’t been shooting into the side of a garage directly behind our yard. Our yard doesn’t have a solid fence so I was worried about stuff ricocheting off the garage into our yard, possibly hitting one of the littles. But glad that another of our neighbors decided to go tell him he needed to stop because there were kids in our yard… Hopefully there won’t be a repeat this summer…

2. Beards. Thumbs up or thumbs down?

Well….. Thumbs up if they work on the guy. The guys in my life who have attempted to grow beards (my hubby, my dad, and one of my brothers), all have kinda scraggly/scruffy beards, not really full thick beards. They do however look pretty nice with goatees, so, that counts, right?

3. If stuff breaks, can you fix it?

For the most part, yes, I can get things functional. But, it’s limited to things like: books, clothes, stuffed animals, small repairs to stuff, or very minor household maintenance. If there are electronics or motors involved: no.

4. What was your first car?

A very, very basic 2008 blue Mitsubishi Lancer. No frills, no extras. Very small. It wasn’t big enough to hold my cello (back when I had it), in the back seat, never mind the trunk. Funny thing was, I got it specifically because it was a 4-door and therefore in my mind “was able to hold a cello”….. it also didn’t quite work for rear facing car seats when I got to that point. Well, it did, but whoever sat in the passenger seat had to sit a little scrunched forward because otherwise the car seat didn’t fit. Live and learn I guess.

5. How often do you eat out?

Probably about twice a month. I’d like to make a regular weekly date of Friday nights when my dad watches the kids, but we don’t always pick the cheapest places to eat (and I don’t mean really expensive, but we don’t always pick the Chinese buffet for $25) so that makes it a little tighter to fit into a pretty bare minimum budget. One day…..

6. Why is your hair like that?

My hair is at its current length because I haven’t gotten it cut in over a year. Which is WAY. TOO. LONG. I don’t normally keep my hair any definition of “short”, but currently it’s just too long. I’m pretty boring when it comes to my hair. I hardly do anything fancy with it, mostly because besides being really long, it’s also really, really thick, like the kind that doesn’t dry if I put it up right out of the shower. Mostly it just ends up like this:

20140520-133130.jpgBoring old bun. I do have plans in the near future to take advantage of a gift certificate to a hair salon, but have yet to make that appointment…

And looky there, I’ve used up all my self-imposed internet time. Linking up over at Haleys (link way back at the top). Off to get dinner started and do some organizing of toys because I just don’t know how to take things easy and rest (per recommendation of my midwife).

~Ruth Anne

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

