Answer me this {4}

Joining in again with Answer Me This from Kendra’s blog… My attempt to get back in a slightly more regular blogging routine.

1. Have you ever walked out of a movie?

Yes. But it had to have been close to 15 years ago now, and honestly I can’t remember what it was called. The group I was with though all dutifully followed me out of the theater. They were mostly confused as to why we left. I don’t suppose it was probably a great movie to begin with, but I remember I was getting so frustrated with the main character so I decided to leave.

Weird feeling. Most definitely.

I’ve walked out on movies at home though too many times to even name them all here. Pretty much I’ve almost given up trying to watch movies (at a theater or at home). I find I can use my time much more productively if I don’t even attempt. I guess movies just don’t mean much to me. Most of the ones I happen to watch leave me feeling like “I just spent the last two hours watching that?” So I decided maybe better to just not watch any.

2. Do you abstain from meat on Fridays?

No. Well, yes, I make every effort during Lent. But during the rest of the year no. I have often thought that I should abstain from something else on Fridays, since I don’t do the no-meat thing, but that idea is honestly more theoretical than actual, even though I know we’re supposed to give up something.

3. What do you most often use for blogs and blogging: desktop, laptop, tablet or phone?

Multi answered question.

For reading blogs, I most likely will use my phone. The reason being, most blogs that I read I have to sign up for an email subscription or I’ll never remember to check in and see if there’s a new post. I know, there’s these readers out there that you can use to subscribe, but I haven’t had much luck figuring them out (or getting them to work on all devices)… so email it is. And I can get that on my phone.

For writing blog posts I prefer to use hubby’s laptop. Most of the time that’s what I use, since it conveniently works faster to edit photos too.

4. Have you ever had anything stolen from you?

I’ve been thinking and thinking about this question {I started this post last night and totally intended to finish it this AM, but didn’t quite make it, so now it’s evening again and I’ve had all day to think about these questions}. Anyways, been thinking about this question and I thought the answer was “no”. But then I remembered a pair of black “dress” shoes I had when I was probably about 6-years-old. I liked to wear them when we went outside to play in the sprinkler, somehow I thought they “went together”…. *shrugs shoulders*. So, one day we were playing outside, and when we finished with the water we “laid out” on our towels and I placed my shoes right next to my towel… Well I promptly forgot about them in a rush to go inside for some reason or other, and when I remembered them some time later and went out to get them, they were gone. The place we lived at the time had lots of neighbor kids, who we played with all the time, so I imagine it was one of them. I never found out. And I can almost hear my mom saying something to the extent of “well, you shouldn’t have left them out there”.

And I think that’s it. Unless you count things borrowed with the intention of being returned, but never quite being returned?

5. Do you identify as a member of a particular ethnic group?

Short answer: not really.

Long explanation: Both of my parents grew up to American parents outside of the US (in different countries from each other). Each of their parents is from a different cultural background (Swedish, Southern, New Englander and Latin American). Both of my parents then moved to the US when they were in college, got married and decided to live here, in a culture they knew to some extent, but weren’t necessarily a part of. So, there we have so many different combinations of cultures and not any of them more or less predominate than another, which left me growing up with bare minimum of cultural identity. Eventually we did make some of our own traditions, but those were few and far between.

I think another thing that played a part in minimal cultural identity was the fact that up until I was about 16 we were in a non-denomination church, after that we switched to a more liturgical church. So we didn’t even have the church calendar to “guide”” our traditions.

This is, I think, a big reason why I want to start traditions with my own kids. I really want them to know that on St. Nicholas’ Day we always get a little book as a gift. Or that we always do an Advent Wreath. Things like that (obviously we’ve only really gotten traditions in the Advent/Christmas seasons, that’s as far as I’ve gotten so far… baby steps). Katherine already asks for the sweet bread for Saint Lucia’s day, which makes me smile.

6. Seen anything weird lately?

Well, if you define “weird” as “out of the ordinary” then yes, a few things:

There was this covering our porch roof on Sunday morning, on account of all the fireworks shot off on Saturday night:

20140707-204506-74706457.jpg

It’s to be expected in these parts on or around July 4th, but it’s still a little out-of-the-ordinary to see that much debris all over. (As a side: it was also covering the driveway, and entire street).

And there were the round-ish rash things all over Karl, which I later found out was Lyme Disease. And while that was unusual, I didn’t bother to call the pediatrician until about 10 days after I first saw them…. I just figured they’d go away by themselves, but they didn’t and they kept spreading so I eventually called. She still said we caught it “early” though. I don’t have a picture for that.

There was also the burned out car in the mall parking lot. That was a little more freaky than weird.

mall fireAnd just because I thought he was adorable:

20140707-204509-74709778.jpg

He loves being a part of anything that’s happening around the house, including getting his nails done. Maybe slightly on the “weird” side, unfortunately not really on the the “out-of-the-ordinary” side. But he’s still cute 🙂

Well, I think this post has become long enough, must make an attempt at the kitchen before we start “24” which leaves me approximately 11 minutes.

Good night all 🙂

 

 

 

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

