Answer Me This {5}

Another week’s edition of Answer Me This. I wanted to put a nice random piece of something here, but then everything I could think of would probably be better not smooshed into this post. So……….

1. How did you get your name?

My name is officially spelled as two separate names: Ruth + Anne (the “e” at the end is very important!) and that’s my “first” name

I am named Ruth after one of my grandmother’s middle names. I am named Anne after the other grandmother’s middle name (although come to think of it I think her “Anne” is spelled without the “e”?!? – please grandma if you could clarify?)

I also overheard my mom explain to someone once that they wanted to follow tradition and use the parents name in their children’s names, but I always thought that that tradition was to use the parents first name as the child’s first name. Anyway, I hold my mom’s name as my middle name: Elizabeth.

Which makes for very long spelling out in all the legal forms where you have to have ALL. YOUR. NAMES. listed. But, that totally didn’t stop me from turning right around and doing it to my daughter, she even holds a form of both her grandmother’s names as her middle name.

2. Do you have a set time for prayer in your day?

Usually during the week I use the morning right after I get my coffee for prayer time, which includes one decade of the Rosary along with private prayer and reading the Bible time. This works a lot better if I get up early enough. Ideally I get up at 6:00 (or just after), have my prayer time, and get Jared off to work. But, if I get up too late I usually have to get other things done first and the day just gets later and later and then the kids get up, which makes it really hard to sit down quietly.

I also try to have a short prayer time with the kids after breakfast. I try to do the daily readings while they’re finishing up breakfast, then we try to do a short “pray for ____” right after that. They’re still so young that I don’t feel like they “get it” most days, but I figure here’s as good a place to start as any.

3. Did your mom work or stay at home (or both)?

While I was growing up my mom did not work outside the house. Actually, she didn’t have a “for pay” job inside the house either. But she raised all six of us and once I was in my mid-late teen years she ended up as a neighborhood mom of quite a few “strays” as she called them.

She only got an “outside the house” job once I was past 20.

4. Do you vote?

I try to. I don’t always make the primaries, occasionally my excuse is I forget the primaries are being held, but more likely I’m not eligible to vote in them because I live in a mostly democratic state (and I happen to be registered republican), where if there is even a republican running then they often don’t have an opponent. But those are the primaries, I try to make it to the other elections.

Of course, if the polling place has the same problem it had last presidential election (I waited in line for over an hour – which I’ve never had happen in all the times I’ve voted before here in the same state), I will probably rethink going. Not that I don’t believe in the process, I just don’t know if I can take out nearly two hours from my day to do it (and I’m definitely not taking the kids with me if that’s the case).

5. What’s your favorite drink?

Alcoholic – ummmmmmm *blank face*. Jared could probably tell you what I like better than I could. I’m basically not a drinker. I enjoy some of the heartier beers, stouts and craft beers and things like Frambroise, but I don’t know if any of those are a “favorite”.

Non-Alcoholic – ummmmmmmmm *blank face*. Drinking, just like eating is not something I do because I enjoy it. I like some of the Goya drinks such as Tamarindo. But on a day to day basis, maybe, Lemonade?

This question is definitely more answerable in the negative: I don’t like milk (but I make myself drink at least a little), I don’t care for water (too boring, again, I make myself drink it), and I don’t like light beers of any sort (tasteless).

6. How are your photography skills?

Moderate I’d say. Probably the technical term would be Advanced Amateur. I never studied professionally, but I have a pretty decent DSLR and a few good lenses that I can use in full manual mode. It probably helps that I learned using my mom’s only manual Pentax from probably the 1970s when I first started about 10 years ago.

My sister-in-law was happy with the pictures I took for her and my brother’s engagement.

I say there is most definitely room for me to improve, but I’m happy with where I’m at right now. I’d love to do more studying in the area of photography, but I’d probably have to get involved in at least a photography certificate course to move beyond what I already know. Trust me I have my eye on one that’s offered at RISD, but there’s absolutely no way we’d be able to afford something like that. So for now I just snap photos of my kids and occasionally I do some still life things. It’s hard to get really involved at the moment because there’s not a ton of additional time in which to do it.

I’ve gone so far as to make a photography blog, but have not been brave enough to publish it. Maybe soon 😉

20140713-163405-59645275.jpg

Here’s a bit of not AMT: On the left a selfie in the bathroom in which I tried to not include the toilet (photobombed by Katherine getting a drink). On the right I had Katherine take a photo of me to try to get a little “better”, all I heard from her was “oops”, and it was photobombed by Karl. Guess we don’t get a real winner this week.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

