Searching for just a little more peace

IMG_0283

It’s been a rough couple of weeks here. Maybe because of the surgery or maybe because of getting near the end of this pregnancy or maybe the heat. I could probably use anyone of these “excuses”, but either way, I’ve felt very unsettled inside, especially this past week. And I can’t really pinpoint it. I’ve read a few things recently that have really jumped out at me that I thought I’d share for this evening.

 

Your children are not ordinary kids or ordinary people, because there are no ordinary kids or ordinary people. They are little reflections of the Almighty, and He expects us to treat them as such ~ Sarah Mackenzie in Teaching from Rest.

~

First keep the peace within yourself, then you can also bring peace to others – Thomas a Kempis

~

(And as something I’m attempting this week)

Do nothing out of selfishness or vainglory, rather, humbly regard others as more important than yourselves – Philippians 2:3

I peaked into the boys room this AM and saw Johnny just laying there with a book (picture above). I saw peace in that moment. I saw peace for him and I saw peace for me. And I really want to try to do better to promote that peace in our house this week. That sounds overwhelming to think of it because all three of my kids are very active, but as the second quote says it has to start with me, most often I find that things start to disintegrate with me and the kids.

Off to a better week.

Linking up at Simple Things Sunday and Confessions of a Good Enough Mom

 

4 thoughts on “Searching for just a little more peace

    1. Aww thanks so much for your kinds words. We rarely get peace in the sense of “quiet”, but I’ve found if I can channel my inner-peace and calmness (as best I can) things go a bit more smoothly.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

