Waiting/”Prepping” for Baby Z {p,h,f,r}

~ Capturing the context of contentment in everyday life ~
Every Thursday at Like Mother, Like Daughter

I thought you all would like to see how we are preparing for Baby Z.’s arrival in approximately 4 weeks and 3 days (maybe sooner if he follows suit with Karl who came a blessed 6 days early).

{pretty}

In the past week I’ve made my way up to the attic to take down the box of smallest baby clothes I have – sized 0-3 mo. since my babies never last more than a few days in the “newborn” clothes. Really, though when the newborn sizes run from 5-8lbs and your kids are repeatedly born at 8+ and occasionally 9+…. there’s really not much of a reason to assume that future babies will be any smaller. So I finally passed on most of my “newborn” stuff. Anyways.

IMG_0535

Still teensy-tiny stuff!

IMG_0534

Aren’t they just the cutest?! I love baby clothes. Going through this box of stuff really started to make things real and exciting for me. 🙂

I think I should have renamed the category {cute} for this week.

IMG_0536

I’ve also been gathering all our cloth diapers and trying to get them washed. What usually happens though is they get washed and then used again because they’re such handy dandy wipers for just about everything.

(Complete side note: a few people have been wondering what I need, and honestly I don’t need much, but I do need some new diaper covers. These are the ones I’m looking at: Thirsties Dup Wrap Snap. So, if anyone is wanting to gift us something, these would be much appreciated 🙂 )

{happy}

IMG_0538Am posting this as my “happy” entry because I am most happy in clothing that is super duper comfortable. I have only a handful of shirts that cover my entire belly (something that is a *must* in cooler weather). And I think I have exactly one pair of pants that fit comfortably, but they are more like lounge-around-the-house-pants than go-out-pants. So if you happen to stop by to see us on a day where I don’t have to go out, this or something very similar is probably what I’ll be wearing.

I am trying to figure out how to make my summery dresses last into cooler weather because those are my most comfortable clothes at this point.

{funny}

IMG_0537

I can’t quite tell exactly how much the kids “get” what is going on. They seem to know that there’s going to be a baby, but I don’t think they know what that means.

Karl has had a good time driving stuff over my belly…

IMG_0539

And talking on the phone to the Baby…

IMG_0540

Other than that though, I don’t think they really have a clue.

This morning we somehow got on the subject of how the new baby will be fed… And I’m planning on breastfeeding, so biology lessons for 4-year-olds happening right over here. Although, I neglected to mention to my mother that we had had this little conversation so the kids made a big deal of it while they were with her this morning, apparently. My mom isn’t really one to discuss facts of nature with young children, sorry mom… *does shoulder shrug*.

{real}

Moving right along to the sleeping arrangements. Because we all know, we have to put the baby somewhere to sleep. (We don’t co-sleep – just doesn’t work out for us. And we barely “room-in” because… well that just would take up a whole ‘nother post, so…. bottom line, we need a real, semi-permanent place to put the baby to sleep once he arrives.)

This is what we have so far:

IMG_0532

This is: Katherine’s room (three steps from our door, so, very close). We feel that since she is currently not sharing a room it will be easier to fit another bed in there rather than the boy’s room. Also, she’s a lot quieter when she goes to bed and she’s a really deep sleeper, so I don’t think we’re in danger of either of them waking the other up.
Please note on the left: patch of pealing paint/wallpaper/etc
Please note on the right: very much not put together crib, that may or may not be missing a piece since I planned so wonderfully to bring the crib from the attic weeks ago. Which has lead to the railings and pieces becoming play things. Oops. And the only directions we had for putting it together (which happened to only have the Spanish part left) are gone. So….. I dunno.

IMG_0533

The patch of peeling stuff was intentionally made bigger so as to fix. And was partially finished today. The plan is to have it done tomorrow. And then at some point, before the baby’s arrival of course, we’ll be painting the entire room a nice light pink.

 I think that ’bout wraps things up over here for the evening. I’m off to go try to read (again).

~Ruth Anne

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

