Book Review: The Christmas Story For Children

Christmas Story

Good afternoon all! It’s been a while since I’ve done a book review, and this book was a quick read, so I really have no excuses for it taking nearly a month to get this written.

I was excited to see The Christmas Story For Children by Max Lucado, Randy Frazee and Karen Davis Hill as an available book to review. I love Christmas books… and I love children’s books… so the combination = :D.

As mentioned, this is a children’s Christmas story, illustrated by Fausto Bianchi. And although it covers the Biblical version of the Christmas story, it actually extends further in the life of Christ and ends at His baptism.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The simplicity yet fullness of the wording, especially as the Holy Family is entering Bethlehem, resonated very strongly with me, perhaps because I was days away from delivering my own baby when I first read through the story. I was a little surprised to find that the story continued after the Nativity until the Baptism. And at first I couldn’t quite figure out why it would be in a Christmas book at all, but after sitting on it for a little while, I feel that it nicely draws a correlation between Christ’s physical birth into the world and his “spiritual” birth (if you will) into his ministry to the world.

A final thought about the illustrations. They’re absolutely beautiful. I love the emotion that is shown in the characters, most especially in the face of Joseph (such as in the illustration on the cover). His love for the Christ child is beautiful to see.

The recommended age group for the book is 4-8, although there is no reason why it couldn’t be shared with younger (or older) children. I will definitely be keeping this book in our Christmas collection and reading it with all our children.

~~~~~
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

