finding God in the everyday

I’ve been doing a photo-through-Advent thing (details on the HolyLens project over here). It’s been a very tangible way I’ve been able to “see” God in the day to day. Which is kinda the point, but it took me a few days to get that through my head and to really make sense of it.

One day last week, I forget which one now, but the prompt was “prepare”, and I took this picture:

IMG_2620

I detailed it: preparing for a diaper change, which we do a lot of around here (or something like that). I almost didn’t post that particular photo because I thought to myself “this isn’t holy, I shouldn’t post this as something ‘holy’ “…. And then I thought about it a little more and decided that this little every day moment was holy because it’s part of my “job”, part of my vocation.

A few days later I read in one of my Advent devotionals:

We need to practice seeing God where we are. Practice makes perfect… And if we start practicing, if we make the choice to see god… to find God, in every situation, in every place, in everyone, I bet the more we do it, the easier it will become.

(Confirmed my thoughts about the picture.)

I’ve been struggling a little with “where I am”. Mostly because I’m having a hard time coming to terms with the fact that the nitty-gritty of my everyday motherhood is where I’m at to serve and find God. I mean, I realize the importance of what I do, I’m not discounting that, but realizing that God sees me there, seems almost surreal. Almost like, how in the world could that be a place God could meet someone? How is that diaper change the place where the God who created the universe, want to meet me? How? Because that’s where He’s called me. It may have taken me five years, four kids, photography and a diaper change to begin to realize it, but better late than never, right?

It makes me excited for waking up tomorrow and seeing where else I can find God… or maybe, more appropriately, where He can find me. I know the moments may still be hard, and there will still be things that don’t go right, but seeing God’s glory in them is far greater than just “going it alone”.

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

