Menu for the week {#2}

Oh yay! Nell is back with the weekly menu link up! I desperately need a push to get a menu for the beginning part of the week. 🙂

Last week I kept wanting to come check the blog to see what the menu was for the week (since I’m super at remembering things once I write them down), but then realized I hadn’t written it here and felt lost. So, must keep posting it!

Today is a freebie since Zachary’s baptism is today (!!!! yay, so excited !!!!), and we’re going out for a late lunch, so today will probably just be something like grilled cheese.

Sunday ~ Loved the look of this Creamy chicken and asparagus and I have almost all the ingredients already! (totally “borrowing” this from Nell’s menu)

Christmas Prep: Simon (my brother) is taking the 20+ lb turkey out of his freezer that I stored there to begin the thaw.

Monday ~ Rice and Beans with corn since it was such a huge hit last time and it’s been almost two weeks since this was a meal here.

Tuesday ~ Pork Roast. I usually just do something simple like sprinkle it with a packet of onion soup mix and/or ranch dressing. Turns out great. With rice and green beans.

Wednesday ~ Corn Chowder with biscuits.

Side story: One time I made soup, had everyone sit down to eat and Johnny piped up “are the biscuits still in the oven?” I had to tell him I hadn’t made any. He was a little disappointed. So since then I always try to have *something* with soups.

Christmas Prep: Cornbread and Biscuits in preparation for dressing (the southern kind)

Thursday ~ Christmas Dinner. We have been super good at procrastinating this so far, so the only items I know are on the menu are said turkey and dressing, some rice/potatoes (it’s not decided yet). So yup. On top of things over here.

Friday ~ Left over Christmas Dinner.

Saturday ~ Stir Fry Chicken. Well, we’ll see. Since I actually don’t know what we’re doing next Saturday and there was talk of heading down to our little vacation spot, but I don’t know what day that was. So if we’re home and needing to eat, we’ll have this, if not, then I don’t know.

This menu leaves my shopping list very small! Yay. Now off to get breakfast for my little guys then to Church for Christmas Play practice, the home, then back to Church for the Baptism. I’ll try to get to the store sometime before tomorrow afternoon. #crazynessforaSaturday.

This menu also has me thinking I should start putting some recipes up here on the blog, since mostly I cook from the recipes I already have/know and those are written and altered on paper in actual physical recipe books. Maybe I’ll try that in the new year!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

