Cranberry Salad

IMG_3163

This “salad” is a family favorite. Or, well, at least it’s one of my favorites. 🙂 And Karl will eat it, and eat it and eat it (one evening I swear he made it through about three good sized servings before I insisted he eat some of his other food)…

Credit where credit is due: this is my mother-in-law’s recipe modified slightly for my own personal tastes.

(I do apologize for lack of a photo of the actual final product, I totally meant to snap a photo before we ate it at Thanksgiving, but in the middle of the chaos that was trying to figure out how to serve dinner from my kitchen it was forgotten. Perhaps I’ll remember to take one when I make it tomorrow and I’ll post a photo for your viewing pleasure.)

Ingredients:
2 Small boxes of Jello (cherry or raspberry or combination)
1 cup sugar
1 small can crushed pineapple
1 orange – peel one half, leave peel on the other half
2 cups cranberries (fresh, but you could use frozen, just thaw a little before hand)
1 cup pecans

Directions:
* Dissolve Jello in two cups boiling water
* Add sugar, stir until dissolved
* In food processor: chop cranberries, orange (both halves, one with peel, one without – you may want to cut these into slightly smaller pieces before putting in processor), and pecans
* Add cranberry mixture to Jello mixture along with can of pineapple (with the juice)
* Stir and pour into greased bundt pan.
* Refrigerate overnight (or until set)

This is a pretty forgiving recipe, so if your quantities of fruits are off a little, it’s not going to matter *too* much. I used a bundt pan because that’s what I have, any mold pan will work.

Any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments!

Linking up with Home to 4 Kiddos for Try a New Recipe Tuesday

 

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Salad

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

