A Daybook Post {28 Dec}

A little peak into my thoughts…

Praying for:

My little cousin Gabriel, who is still fighting cancer.
Baby Felix, son of Kathleen Quiring who blogs at Becoming Peculiar
Our finances
Our marriage
A cousin of mine who recently became a police officer

Thanking God for:

A wonderful Christmas Day celebration with my family, specifically that we remained free from any breaking tailbones this year.

Zachary’s godparents.

All the blessings He has given us this year and all the people He used to give those blessings.

Photography

Pondering:

God sets a father in honor over his children;
a motherโ€™s authority he confirms over her sons.
Whoever honors his father atones for sins,
and preserves himself from them.
When he prays, he is heard;
he stores up riches who reveres his mother.
Whoever honors his father is gladdened by children,
and, when he prays, is heard.
Whoever reveres his father will live a long life;
he who obeys his father brings comfort to his mother.

My son, take care of your father when he is old;
grieve him not as long as he lives.
Even if his mind fail, be considerate of him;
revile him not all the days of his life;
kindness to a father will not be forgotten,
firmly planted against the debt of your sins
โ€”a house raised in justice to you.

Sirach 3:2-6, 12-14

This was the OT reading for today, and the line which really struck me was:

Even if his mind fail, be considerate of him;
revile him not all the days of his life

I’m not sure why exactly…. still pondering ๐Ÿ™‚

Also am contemplating my word for next year. I think I have it, but I’ll mention it when I’m sure.

Listening To:

Sense and Sensibilityย by Jane Austen (again, folding laundry, washing dishes = excellent time for getting “the classics” done.

The Piano Guys on YouTube… my fingers were physically aching to hold and play a cello again after listening to them. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and ๐Ÿ™‚ because I like them a lot!

Reading:

~Blessed is She daily readings and devotions.
~The Fault in Our Starsย by John Greene. Not sure ’bout it yet as I’ve only gotten a few pages in.
~52 Little Lessons from Les Miserables by Bob Welch, for a book review, so as soon as I’ve finished it up, I’ll be posting about it.

In the Kitchen:

No idea. Last week’s menu ran out yesterday and I haven’t made a new one.

For tomorrow I think Stir-Fry Chicken since that’s the only thing we didn’t get to last week. It’s all dependent on my getting to the store tomorrow though.

I had my Southern Living laying around that had some slow cooker recipes in it, and I also have Haley’s new cookbook to browse (more details on that over here) so I’ll probably find something for the rest of the week ๐Ÿ™‚

Around the House:

Mess, mess and more mess. We … ok…. I have been pretty much not-housekeeping for the last…. ummmm…. week…. so….. yeah…. don’t pop in for a visit just now. Give me a day to get it in passable condition.

Looking Ahead:

~New Years Eve – late nights, new beginnings, time spent with Jared making a puzzle while watching CNN ๐Ÿ™‚
~2-month doctor visit for Mr. I’m-wearing-size-6-9-already.
~Karl’s birthday – please, please send me your tips for making a”digger” cake. Maybe a bulldozer cake would be easier… and I wanted it to be a Winnie-the-pooh themed party, but little 2-year-olds turn into nearly grown up 3-year-olds and change their preferences.
~Making my 2015 reading list! Maybe I’ll be more realistic this year ๐Ÿ˜‰

Captured:

IMG_3339
dress rehearsal for the Nativity Play – Baby Jesus and Angel to the far right are two of mine (more pictures will come, I promise, just not tonight)

 

4 thoughts on “A Daybook Post {28 Dec}

  1. Thank you for this post, for the peak into your thoughts. Thanks for the OT quote, especially the verse you focused on. I have been wondering where in the Scripture there is a reference to the mind failing. There are references to the physical weaknesses of old age, but this is the first I’ve seen to what we used to call senility. My Bible doesn’t have the Apocrypha, which is why I had not seen it.

    Grandma

    1. You’re most welcome. I had never read this particular passage before Sunday (actually, many of the deuterocanonical books I haven’t read). I ended up reading/hearing it multiple times and each time it was so powerful. Still pondering ๐Ÿ™‚
      Love, Ruth Anne

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

