reading dreams 2015

IMG_3456

So…… here I am again, more timidly writing up my reading list ’15. I couldn’t even bring myself to make a “what I read in 2014” post. I’ll do an abbreviated recap here now.

From my 2014 Reading List: see below… I read all the one’s crossed off… and started the ones that are *****-ed.

I think know the pregnancy with Zachary totally threw off 95% of my reading plans. Part way through the year I got ahold of Modern Mrs Darcy’s Summer Reading Guide and proceeded to read:

I thoroughly enjoyed every. single. one. of the books I read. (And I have another one in progress, two checked out, and a few more on hold at the library).

For the first two months of the year I did manage to get “reports” done. January is here, February is here.

Trying to rack my brain for anything else I read…. I know there were some more… I think they were mostly novels.

Ok, moving on. This year’s “list”:

~Everything that I didn’t get to in 2014 ~ I’m already thinking this may not be realistic, but I thought I’d leave them on the list since I do want to read them eventually!~ (copied from the original post)

THE LIST (in no particular order):

* Anne of Green Gables (series) – L. M. Montgomery (I finished the first two and have started the third, but haven’t finished)
* The Odyssey – Homer
* Wives and Daughters – Elizabeth Gaskell
* Road to Cana – Anne Rice
* Out of Egypt – Anne Rice*****
* Les Miserable – Victor Hugo (here’s hoping…)
* The Lamb’s Supper – Scott Hahn
* Jesus of Nazareth – Joseph Ratzinger
* Catholic for a Reason – Edited, Scott Hahn*****
* Pride and Prejudice (re-read), Persuasion, Sense and Sensibility*****, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen.
* Orthodoxy – G.K. Chesterton
* A Catholic Christmas – Kathleen M. Carroll
* Walking with Mary: A Biblical Journey From Nazareth to the Cross – Edward Sri
* Pope Awesome – Cari Donaldson
* The Father’s Tale – Michael D. O’Brien
* Called Out of DarknessAnne Rice
* Saint Thomas Aquinas: The Dumb Ox – G.K. Chesterton
* Kristen Lavransdatter: The Cross – Singrid Undset
* Simplicity Parenting –Kim John Payne and Lisa M. Ross*****
* The Life of St. Teresa of Jesus – St Teresa of Avila
* A Mother’s Rule of Life – Holly Pierlot
* C.S. Lewis: A Life – Alister McGrath

And since I’ve already started this one:
* Einstein Never Used Flash Cards Kathy Hirsh-Pasek and Roberta Michnick Golinkoff
And rented these from the library:
* A Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making; The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There; The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two – Catherynne M. Valente

~New Books THIS Year~
The Fault in Our Stars
Bel Canto by Ann Patchet
Hands Free Mama: A Guide to Putting Down the Phone, Burning the To-Do List, and Letting Go of Perfection to Grasp What Really Matters! by Rachel Mary Stafford
Beautiful Ruins by Jess waters
Bossypants by Tina Fey
Outlander: A Novel (Outlander, Book 1) by Diana Gabaldon
Whose Body? by Dorothy Sayers
Gilead: A Novel by Marilyn Robinson
The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarity
The Invention of Wings: With Notes (Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 3) by Sue Monk Kidd
The Little Oratory: A Beginner’s Guide to Praying in the Home (started last year…)
52 Little Lessons from Les Miserables by Bob Welch (book review book, started last year… need to finish ASAP)
Joy to the World: How Christ’s Coming Changed Everything (and Still Does) by Scott Hahn

I’m stopping there…. I totally wrote down more stuff on my paper list, but this is WAY too long. {shoulda probably split this into two posts…}

I am planning on reading Les Mis with the same group I read Jane Austen with last year (FB group here).
And I found a great idea from Modern Mrs Darcy (seriously, love her!) about reading challenge for 2015. I’m NOT planning on picking new books to fit the challenge, but I’m thinking I can definitely squeeze most of the books I want to read into that challenge somehow…

happy reading to all and to all a goodnight!
~ruth anne

 

4 thoughts on “reading dreams 2015

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

