Kitchen Notes

 

candles with s&p grindersPM

Kitchen Notes:

So, I think we’re going to try to incorporate a new tradition into the family:

Sunday Dinner.

Jared grew up with it, and mentioned a few weeks back that he’d like to do Sunday Dinner. Since it works out cheaper to buy a roast and cook it than for us to do any sort of going out, I figured it’s a win-win, and we get to have beef which we normally don’t do because, cost!

Anyways, that’s the new thing happening over here.

Recipe/How-To of the week:

Butter Chicken

1-2lbs chicken thighs (I use enough to cover the bottom of a 9X13 baking dish)
1/4-1/3 c. butter
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp ginger (fresh or ground)
Salt to taste

Melt butter, stir in garlic, ginger and salt. Pour over chicken in dish. Bake at 375 for 30-40 min (until done)

I have a fairly unscientific way of cooking… plus this is chicken…. so adjust quantities of garlic/ginger as suits your taste buds. I prefer to use fresh garlic/ginger, but I’ve also substituted ground and it tastes OK.

I’ve also done this with chicken breast: cook at 350 for about 20 min, flipping every 10 min. They don’t turn out quite as nice though.

Rest of the Menu

I also want to try a sort of “schedule” for days we have which kind of food.
Sunday – Roast
Monday – Beans
Tuesday – Chicken
Wednesday – Soup
Thursday – Pork
Friday – Fish/eat out/leftovers
Saturday – Mom’s/Breakfast

That was the order in which I made this week’s menu, but then, one day’s schedule already was rearranged and I’ve changed the menu around… but I thought that sounded like it may be worth a try to offer variety, but not have to get to crazy coming up with a new way to cook chicken every night….

Sunday
Roast

Monday
Rice and Beans w/ salad
OR
Potato Soup w/ homemade bread

Tuesday
whichever one doesn’t get made Monday

Wednesday
Beef stew

Thursday

Cheesy Bacon and Two Onion Tart from Southern Living.

Friday and Saturday
don’t know for sure because I tend to plan those “day of”…

That’ll have to do it for me for tonight.

Linking Nell today and Try A New Recipe Tuesday on…. well… Tuesday 😉

One thought on “Kitchen Notes

  1. Sunday dinner is always special. I love it. Yesterday we had Sunday dinner at Aunt Cameron’s house because Timothy is here with his two younger kids. She had butter chicken, rice, Italian beans, broccoli/ cheese casserole, tossed salad, and Sister Shubert rolls. Dessert was brownies, made by Jenn – delicious, and Costa Rican coffee (Atlantic Highland Coffee) from Timothy’s farm. A scrumptious meal and a wonderful long afternoon of conversation.

    The years we lived in Tsipiri I had a set menu. Rice and beans everyday but with a different salad or side dish, plus fresco to drink. Sundays we always had roast and potatoes, veggies, and iced tea. It was always pork roast because the beef was too tough for a nice roast.

    Love, Grandma

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

