Siblings {January}

Haven’t done an update post for a while, so I figured I could go ahead and get one done for all of you.

If you’re popping over from the “dear beautiful Siblings linkup” let me introduce my clan:

siblings4
favorite activity: lounging on mama and dad’s bed

Katherine (5yo)
This month, we’ve been working on reading a little more intentionally (her reading, not me reading with the kids as I mentioned… oh… a few posts back I think). Anyway, the last few days she’s really picked up. Today she hollered from the bedroom as I was turning out the lights and gathering laundry: I read some of my Ariel book by myself (she’s totally into The Little Mermaid or anything princess-y for that matter). Steps in the right direction! I think she finally made a connection between doing the reading lessons and reading actual books for fun! Yay!

I also caught her trying to teach a pretty open Karl the letters and sounds. A little while later she was trying to get Zak interested!

Sibling Status: Ring Leader

John (4yo)
Definitely he’s still my most sensitive child. His big thing recently has been building train tracks with the wooden trains. He’s been able to make figure out some elaborate designs by himself.

He absolutely adores his older sister, and is constantly trying to do anything with her. Today during “rest” time, he kept going into her room to show her something from the book he was reading.

Sibling Status: Follower

Karl (just turned 3)
Does his absolute best to keep up with his older siblings. And does a pretty good job of it, if I do say so myself. His articulation and “debating” skills are eye opening and so far above where the first two were at the same age. He’s definitely not afraid to make his opinions known.

He’s unfortunately getting over a bit of a head cold at the moment which has slowed him down quite a bit, but he doesn’t seem to mind skipping out on meals he doesn’t care for. 😉

Sibling Status: His own man, but totally dependent on the other two

Zachary (3 months tomorrow!)
Enjoys laughing (yes, little baby laughs have just recently been heard), smiling at anyone who will get in his face, “talking” and watching the goings-on of his older siblings. Oh, and he’s nearly out of 9month clothing….

Sibling Status: Baby

John and Zak
Johnny and Zak

One of my favorite things the last few months has been to see how the kids have welcomed their new brother. I keep getting questions and comments about what he’ll do outside in the summer, if he can ride a bike, when can he talk… All things that tell me they’re excited for him to join them.

Another thing that’s been neat to watch is their pretend play with each other. It’s gotten so much more involved and detailed. I periodically hear them calling “mom” or “dad” and they’re using it in whatever game they’re doing.

This post is part of a project to take at least one photo a month of them all together. I know, I know, another project, but they’re changing so quickly that I want to be able to keep a memory of them together. I unofficially did this two years ago, but my stuff from last year was random at best.

dear beautiful

 

26 thoughts on “Siblings {January}

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

