January 2015: What I read

jan2015When I started this post I didn’t realize the actual number of books I finished reading last month. So, now that I look at it, I realize why this blog has consisted mainly of a few photo posts and not much else. So glad you’ve stuck around. 🙂

From the 2014 Reading List:
Both these books I ultimately listened to on audiobook. Simplicity Parenting from the library using Overdrive (love, love, LOVE that service!) and S&S from Audiobooks.org (using the librivox recording by Elizabeth Klett) {total side note, but Audiobooks has an app for the phone (the Cross Forward one is the one I use), and once I found that it was much easier than streaming from the internet – sorry I can’t link to it, can’t seem to find it on the regular computer…}

simplicity parentingSimplicity Parenting: Using the Extraordinary Power of Less to Raise Calmer, Happier, and More Secure Kids by Kim John Payne and Lisa M. Ross.

I absolutely LOVE the ideas presented in this book. Especially the overall theme of simplifying your lifestyle (clutter, screen time, activities, etc…) so that your children have time and space to explore and *be* children. {And indirectly so that you have time and space to allow them to *be*.}

I really wish that I had a physical copy of this book so that I could re-read it, mark it up and let the words really sink in, but alas I don’t. I will definitely be purchasing this book at some point though.

I feel like I’ve already been working on doing some of the decluttering that he talks about, but it’s a slow process. I am still learning how to let things go…

~

sense and sensibility
Sense and Sensibility (Vintage Classics) by Jane Austen

I started this one a while back (maybe in November of last year), and just finished it up at the end of January. (I took a BIG break in December and most of January…)

Of all the Austen novels I’ve read so far (which is now all except for Northanger Abbey), this is the one where I felt I could relate to the characters the most.

Knocking Off of This Year’s List:

the fault in our stars

The Fault in Our Stars by John Greene

So, ummm, wow. Bring your tissues.
This story is about love and loss and more specifically about learning to love yourself through that loss.

Grief does not change you, Hazel. It reveals you.

bel canto
Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

A novel which had been on hold forever at the library. A fascinating story. It doesn’t follow the continuous timeline (well, it does, but it jumps around a lot) and somehow it works!

Set in the “host country” a group of dignitaries is captured by a rebel group looking for the president. Upon not finding him amongst the captives they decide to keep the remaining captives indefinitely. The story covers that time. Ultimately its about relationships and shows people as being inherently good.

hands free

 Hands Free Mama: A Guide to Putting Down the Phone, Burning the To-Do List, and Letting Go of Perfection to Grasp What Really Matters! by Rachel Macy Stafford

I liked this book to an extent. It has some good stories on living less distractedly (i.e. less phone time, less computer time) and more intentional time spent with your children.

There were a few things that didn’t really “mesh well” with me. One was that intentional time with your children, in the book seems to happen every waking minute. Nothing wrong with making the time spent with your children intentional, but at some point the laundry does need to get done.

Another was that the author’s personality is very different than mine, so a lot of what she was saying was to me, really extreme. Don’t get me wrong, I spend my fair share of time on the computer, but I’m not one for volunteering for every single group that comes asking… I also have no problem heading out somewhere in yoga pants and unwashed hair… and I’m not really a perfectionist… But that’s just me.

Finally, I listened to this book on audiobook (from the library) and I was getting irritated with the reader by about half way through.

husbands secret
The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Picked this one off the library shelf because of the author. This was a very well written novel. About a woman who’s husband has a deep dark secret from his past (it’s not what you’d think). And how that secret has the power to drastically change not only her and her husband’s life, but the lives of many others that they don’t even know personally.

This is a great story of “what-ifs”. I love how in the epilogue the author goes so far as to “be God” (if you will) and tell you what would have happened if this happened. Or what would have happened if that had happened.

This is not a Christian book (although the family is nominally Catholic now that I think of it), so there is the occasional sexual reference/escapade (they’re non-explicit). So, if you’re really bothered by that sort of thing, then keep this in mind before reading.

notes blue bike

Notes from a Blue Bike: The Art of Living Intentionally in a Chaotic World by Tsh Oxenreider

Where to start? This is, to me the best combination of the “Simplicity Parenting” book (less stuff, just *be*) combined with the few good points of the “Hands Free” book (minimal distracting devices, intentional time spent) all wrapped up with budgeting, living and cooking local and world traveling. Um, yup. That just about covers it.

I thought I had pretty successfully squashed my international-travel-bug, but then I read this book and it totally worked it’s way back into my thoughts…..

A few quick goals for February:
* finish Two-Part Invention: The Story of a Marriage (The Crosswicks Journal, Book 4) by Madeline L’Engle
* finish (and review) 52 Little Lessons from Les Miserables by Bob Welch
* finish Northanger Abbey (Vintage Classics) by Jane Austen (this one I’m listening to also, so it’s my doing laundry, washing dishes book)
* hope that nothing else becomes available from the library. If it does than I’ll work those into the schedule.
* get to page 371 (or pretty close) in Les Mis. (I got a little behind while catching up all my library books last month)

~~~~~
Linking with Jessica at HousewifeSpice for WWRW

One thought on “January 2015: What I read

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

