Book Review: 52 Little Lessons from Les Miserable by Bob Welch

image

52 Little Lessons from Les Miserables by Bob Welch is about life lessons one is able to find in Victor Hugo’s massive piece of classic French literature. Lesson 6: “Blessed are the Poor in Spirit”; Lesson 26: “The Past Can Be a Springboard to the Future” and Lesson 40: “Self-Pity Morphs Into Selfishness” are just a small sampling of the lessons touched on in this book.
Generally each lesson begins with a short quote from the original. It then continues talking about a particular scene, moves on into a “real life” example and scriptural reference, and concludes with a thought provoking question or final thought.
There are several things I really liked about this book. One, the length of the chapters (most are only a few pages) make it totally manageable to pick up and read for a few minutes and set down. Although, to be noted: even though you *could* blow through the chapters one after the other, the homily-like lessons have so much excellent thought-provoking content that’s it well worth it to stop and reflect before moving on.

The other thing was the “real life” stories and parallels that are drawn continuously throughout the book. The makes the lessons so much more relatable to our own lives today and really underscores the lessons from the original

When I first picked up the book I hadn’t begun to read the original,  but this book gave me the push and excitement I needed to get going on that. It also helped to provide a framework for me to hang the story on.
~~~

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255  : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Any other links may be Amazon Affiliates, thank you for supporting HFN
One thought on “Book Review: 52 Little Lessons from Les Miserable by Bob Welch

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

