7QTs {reading, 4 months, and Lent convos from the kids}

Oh, you know, just popping in for a few little quick takes. I found this in my drafts folder from about a month back, so apparently I started writing it and then forgot about it. So…..

 

~1~

…I guess the reason for lack of “content”-posts is that I clearly do not plan my reading very well….. I’ve been good in that I haven’t actually started more than one book, but I whoops got out two “real” (i.e. paper and ink) books from the library with in days of each other. Then I had two books become available on the eZone (one audio and the other a regular ebook) plus I had an audio version of Les Mis checked out since it has worked out to be easier to “read” that way…. and anyways, yeah, majorly disorganized over here in the reading department.

It did work a little better for the first half of the month, but not so much now.

So, hoping to just buckle down and get these books read super-duper quick before they expire.

Anyways…. moving on from books…

~2~

I can’t decide if I like the kindle or real book better. Kindle for sure for the classics, which are usually big books, but mostly I like it for the instant access to the dictionary! I don’t however like that if I want to read before bed (and that specific book is on the kindle) then I have to look at a screen.

(That was totally not moving on…)

~3~

I know for sure that I don’t like kindle for children’s picture books. WAY too small to see the words. Even if I turn it on edge. Plus I usually end up with pictures that don’t format exactly right. So… I’ll stick to “real” books for the kids.

(Neither was that…)

~4~

Katherine is finally getting excited about reading!!! I really think it has to do with us reading real books together (which works out to about her reading half the words and me reading half the words). I should have listened when I heard that you should have your child read real books from the beginning….

(Better…)

~5~
Baby turned 4 months!

IMG_5116

Let’s see…. He has his 4-month appointment next week, so I’ll have all the juicy details on weight, height, etc…

But for now:
Clothes size – 12 mo.
Mobility – none
Holding head up – check
Rolling over – trying to
Eating – ALL. THE. TIME. “boobie milk” (as termed by his siblings) and oatmeal cereal a little bit a day.
Sleeping through the night – yeah. right.
Teething – got one trying to come through
Loves – people holding him, watching his brothers and sister, eating, watching
Hates – being alone. (Seriously, the second he can’t see anyone, he melts down)

~6~
Kids and Lent

{overheard}
Johnny: Katherine, I want to play dollhouse
Katherine: {in whiny voice} Johnny, no-oooo… You can’t play dollhouse, I gave up the dollhouse for Lent {which, BTW she didn’t, either that or she has a very loose definition of “give up”… like the kind where you give it up only if you don’t want your younger brothers to play with it, but you reserve the right to play with it on your own time whenever you want}
Johnny: But I didn’t give up the dollhouse for Lent…

~7~
Kids and Lent some more

{after seeing some cookies on the baking soda box}
Johnny: mommy, can you make some chocolate chip cookies?
Me: Not right now, honey, it’s Lent
Johnny: When is Lent done?
Me: Let’s go check the calendar and count the days (thinking something along the lines of “teaching moment”)
{check the calendar… count the days left}
Me: We have to get all the way here and then Lent will be over and it will be Easter!
Johnny: {with a huge grin} Then you can make chocolate chip cookies.
#Priorities

~~~~~

Linking with Quick Takes at Kelly’s

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

