What I Read: February 2015

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.

~ Dr. Seuss

I should probably start titling these posts “What I Read And/Or Listened To”, since I’ve been doing the whole audio book thing….

Books on the 2014 List
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. Now that I’ve read all her novels, I think this one was my favorite. I think I clicked more with Catherine than any of the other heroines. I listened to this one on audio book (the librivox edition read by Elizabeth Clett). Maybe I also liked it because I managed to listen to the entire thing in a few days instead of it being put down for long periods of time (during which I managed to forget the plot of the story…)

Checking off of This Year’s Reading Goals:

Bossypants by Tina Fey

This book was kind of “meh” for me. It wasn’t a bad, per se, but I just didn’t really get into it all that much. She did have some interesting things to say about the workplace in general as well as being a woman there.

This is a Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Book: Picked for the cover… I dunno, I just kept walking past it and wanted to read it. So I did.

~

Gilead: A Novel by Marilyn Robinson

First off, I listened to this on audio book from the library. I wish now I had gotten a “real” book because there were so many hidden gems of wisdom that were hard to really “chew” on while listening. It was a lot harder to just stop and think and go back and read again….

But anyways, this is written as a series of letters by an elderly father to his young son (he married late in life). The father is a minister in a small town and he’s passing on tidbits from his life and… basically just life.

Another MMD Reading Challenge: A book recommended by someone with great taste!

52 Little Lessons from Les Miserable by Bob Welch
Did a review of this book, can be found right over here.

~

Two-Part Invention: The Story of a Marriage (The Crosswicks Journal, Book 4) by Madeline L’Engle
Let me start this with: I’m a huge Madeline L”Engle fan. Always have been. (Although the last two books of the Wrinkle in Time series, #4 and #5, I didn’t like as much as the original trilogy….)

Anyways. This is the story about her married life with her husband, Hugh. It weaves in and out of the present (where Hugh is fighting an aggressive cancer) and their past life. Set up like: Here’s the present and here’s a “there was this one time…” story.

I loved it. I have been thinking about my marriage a lot recently and reading this, a real story of a real lifelong marriage was just a breath of fresh air. And it’s book 4 in a series, so I’m definitely going to check out the other books! But I’m going to try to purchase them because…. so many good things to underline and revisit. (I finally had to make pencil markings on the library book because I just couldn’t leave a passage un-underlined)

I have to watch out for echthroid projections, those horrible temptations to the imagination to project terrible things, nasty little temptations which buzz around like mosquitos.

Take it day by day. Don’t project. Stand There.

And a final MMD Reading Challenge book: A book by a favorite author 🙂

Read Aloud With the Kids

James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl
I was pleasantly surprised by how well they did with this story. I thought a bit of it may be a little *much* for them, but they took everything in stride. And even asked for it sometimes. 🙂 Also, even Karl would sit and listen for the most part. I’m not sure if he actually *got* anything whatsoever, but he at least sat!

Other bookish items
Shared this on FB.

11022631_10152736753638379_6559954736529580485_n
(
source)

errhhmmm…. guilty. 🙂

Ok. Bedtime!!!

Happy Reading all!

(Links may be Amazon Affiliates. Thanks for supporting HFN)

3 thoughts on “What I Read: February 2015

  1. Hi Ruthanne,

    Gilead is one of my ‘comfort books’, I’ve reread it more than once. Recommend the others as well, although they are not as ‘gentle’ as Gilead, but you get more of the bigger picture. Also have loved the first three of L’Engle’s Croswick series, have reread them more than once. One of our seasons in the States I read several of her novels for adults, which I could get thru the library, and that was really worthwhile.

    Would strongly recommend, ‘I heard the owl call my name’, by Margaret Craven. A classic, exquisitely beautiful, lots to think about in that one too.

    I enjoy your blog and photos, even tho I rarely post.

    Love, Priscilla

    1. so sorry for the long delay in responding. Its funny right after I posted this post I went snooping for other books by M Robinson, will definitely add them to the list 🙂 And the other book (and the Crosswick books too).
      Thanks for stopping in. Always love seeing that the family reads the blog. ❤

  2. Loved this, especially the post about the to-read list. I had already seen it on FB, but I may have to swear off FB until I finish the taxes.

    The to-read thing reminded me a a post, rather a re-post, by Kathleen Foulkes, my sister’s daughter. It showed a background photo of bookshelves and stacks of books on the floor, on which was superimposed the words “I WILL clean my house today . . . .oooh look! a book!!”

    Love, Grandma

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

