Easter Wrap {p,h,f,r}

phfreasterWe made it all the way through Lent… with the stickers anyway. There were a few moments where sweets were partaken of on non-feast days and I’m pretty sure we didn’t quite make it meatless on all the required days. But forgiveness is great!

{Please excuse my crayon “Alleluia”, one of these years I will get fancy and get a more permanent one or something}

Moving on.

phfreaster (1 of 21)

{BTW: these are all in the Pretty, Happy, Funny, and Real category, except for one which I’ll point out when we get there}

I saved the kids Easter package from my in-laws to open on Sunday morning (mostly because the kids were on a super crazy toy-destroying spree and I didn’t want to have to deal with “no you can’t have the candy yet” on top of that). So we waited.

(Zachary got a little basket and outfit too, but he was very interested in the cardboard packaging of the airplane πŸ™‚ )

phfreaster (4 of 21)

We also removed the eggs from the dye

phfreaster (5 of 21)

They turned out less than amazing, but I think maybe I didn’t add enough vinegar? The yellow, blue, blue/green, blue/yellow colors worked OK, but the red ones all turned out brown?I think maybe I’ll try again since Easter is 40-some odd days from being over πŸ™‚ #lovebeingCatholic!

They spent the better part of 10 minutes trying to figure out how to open them… Katherine asked why they were white inside. I tried to object lesson the moment, by showing that the egg shells are like our sin and Jesus dying makes them come off and leaves us white and pure underneath. It was going well I thought until about 20 seconds later Katherine looked at me and said “yeah, but where’s the chocolate?”… And then they decided they didn’t like them. But I love them, so I’ve been eating them since πŸ˜‰

We all made it to Mass

I wish I had some lovely insightful things to say about the service, but I really don’t… so I’ll just leave it at that. And add that next year I think I’m going to go to the Vigil.

phfreaster (13 of 21)

phfreaster (14 of 21)

We got family photos, to a degree. I just wanted photographic proof that my kids can actual dress up on occasion.

We headed out to Connecticut to spend the afternoon with my grandparents. My grandpa (pictured here) is scheduled to have emergency surgery sometime today to relieve pressure in his eye, so if you all could say a prayer for him that would be so appreciated! Thanks!

It was definitely a nice time, except for:

phfreaster (16 of 21)

{note chin}
He managed to fall and give himself a nice gash on the under side of his chin. Fortunately it seems shallow and has scabbed over nicely since. Those were a few traumatic moments. My honest first thought when I heard him fall and saw him get picked up to be given to me was:

“Ok good, these clothes can get blood on them…”

Anyways, it was a little rainy, and a little chilly, but that didn’t stop these guys from take a trek in the woods behind the house. They do it every time we go, so they have started to remember it now.

Then we drove slowly home (because the car has a crazy unknown shake once you get over 55 mph and it’s super duper annoying), ate a PB&J and went to bed.

 

~~~~~

Linking withΒ Like Morher, Like Daughter

3 thoughts on “Easter Wrap {p,h,f,r}

  1. That was a most pleasant Easter Sunday, I do believe! But I hope that your little man and your grandfather are both doing well now. Thanks for sharing your cheerfulness πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

