Small Success Thursday {2015 #1}

Catholic-Mom-Small-Success-720x340

It’s been months since I’ve done one of these, and there’s talk of discontinuing the link up (over at CatholicMom) if participation continues to dwindle. As I said I don’t always contribute, but when I do it’s actually a great blessing. It’s very positive for me to see what things God has done in my life in the past week, especially when I feel that very little has happened. And every single one of these I’ve done, there have been God-moments, even when I sit down to write thinking “there won’t be anything…”

Anyways, I’d encourage you, if you have a blog to consider joining.

Small Successes from the past week or so:

* I made it to the Good Friday service. I had decided not to go to any of the vigil services on account of the time they’re held and the kids bedtime and the fact that I would most likely go by myself since Jared had decided he didn’t want to go to late, late services. But, Jared did a little shoving out the door on Friday evening and I grabbed Baby Z and went.

I mention this as a success one for the fact that I made it, but two because I was heading up for the adoration of the Holy Cross (or the Eucharist, I don’t remember which time), but I was coming from the back of the church (holding Z. who finally had fallen asleep) so I was in the back of the line, just waiting and I was standing next to Station of the Cross #13. This particular one had a Pieta. In the same instant I saw that, I saw my son and the weight of the moment really sunk it. Often things tend to be surface level, and once in a while I get to *feel* it more and it’s always very powerful. So I’m glad I listened to my husband’s nudging and went.

* We finally got the car in to the shop to do some body work that has been desperately needing to be done. {Maybe not a spiritual success, but a practical one none-the-less}. Maybe the REAL success has been functioning as a one-vehicle family and it being actually OK.

* I was able to get myself organized enough to plant the flowers we picked up from the store a few weeks ago. They were daffodils and tulips, so the bulbs *should* make it through the year. I thought I did something similar a few years back and I thought I remembered those working. We’ll just have to wait and see 🙂 {I have photos, they’ll probably be up tomorrow, so do please feel free to come back and check in!}

* Started organizing/cleaning out the basement. It is absolutely amazing the space (and things… *ahem*…. little car snow shovel that would have been so, so useful this past winter…) you can find when things actually get put away. And sweeping makes things look so much tidier. Still a ways to go, but we’re getting there. 🙂

That’s going to be a wrap for me this evening. Going to get a few more things taken care of then head to bed.

Oh, wait, one more success: I got in one whole entire Rosary this evening while grocery shopping! I’ve been attempting to do a little more formal praying, but have gotten a little bogged down in the “attempting” stage.

Goodnight to all!
~Ruth Anne

2 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday {2015 #1}

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

