Book Review: Mama Maggie

MamaMaggie

Mama Maggie: The Untold Story of One Woman’s Mission to Love the Forgotten Children of Egypt’s Garbage Slums by Marty Makary and Ellen Vaughn is the story about a Coptic Christian woman, Maggie Gobran aka “Mama Maggie”, and the ministry she began to reach the children in the garbage slums of Egypt.

While I really enjoyed reading about Mama Maggie and Stephen’s Children (her ministry), I had a bit of a hard time with the actual writing.

First off, I didn’t feel a lot of continuity in the story. It didn’t flow well, and seemed a little “choppy”. Now, the information for the book did come from multiple interviews (family and friends of Mama Maggie, workers at Stephen’s Children, etc…) so that could have contributed to the jumpiness of the story, but I felt it should have been handled a little better.

Also, the story felt very casual and first-draft like. Not to say there’s anything wrong with that style of writing, because I know that’s how I tend to write the blog, but to me a published book shouldn’t sound like it’s trying to be a spoken conversation. There were a number of sentences that began “So, today …..”

Finally, this book was more about Mama Maggie AND her organization. I went into the book expecting to come out knowing Mama Maggie, and I left only knowing about her… AND Stephen’s Children. Again, nothing wrong with that (see paragraph below), but the description didn’t quite match up to what the book was about.

However, on the flip side I DID enjoy getting to know about Mama Maggie and Stephen’s Children and the important work that they do on a daily basis. Before I read this book I didn’t know that either of them existed. I did feel like I got a real sense of the struggles these people go through on a daily basis, both with being Christian and living in poverty. It really did make me stop and think how well we have it here.

Overall, I know it didn’t sound like I cared for this book on account of the writing, but I really did enjoyed the content. It is truly amazing the work they are accomplishing. And at the beginning of each chapter they had a quote and those were simply amazing!

~~~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One thought on “Book Review: Mama Maggie

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

