Finding time {Yarn Along #3}

A…yarnalong

…Post

Joining in for this weeks Yarn Along fun, by Ginny @ Small Things

It’s absolutely not secret ’round these parts that I have too many hobbies.

Way. Too. Many.

Firstly, I like to crochet….

yarn along may 6 (1 of 6)

This is part of the doily I’ve been in the process of making for Katherine. I pretty much work on this one when I’m teaching the kids to read. There are many repeating elements (many, many, MANY repeating elements), so by one or two repeats I’ve got it for the remaining 167 stitch combos that are exactly the same.

I love crocheting with thread, but it does get tedious.

yarn along may 6 (2 of 6)

Anyways, one way I find time to squeeze in this particular project is while doing something else. As mentioned: teaching the kids to read, or watching a show, something I don’t do very often, but I make an effort at so that I can spend some time with Jared doing things he likes (I just can’t get myself interested in playing video games – the other option)… But, I digress.

Sometimes though, especially with my bigger still-not-quite-done project *ahem* I have to just sit down and do it. Once the morning chores are done and the kids are outside playing (and the baby’s napping) I’ll gather everything up, and find a space outside to set up camp and do it.

This is the strategy I employ when I just need to finish something. And this project is way past the “Just Need to Finish” stage.

I’m aiming for Father’s Day

yarn along may 6 (6 of 6)

At this point in the process, I’m actually not liking how this afghan is turning out. I’m not sure the patter was written all that well to begin with, but I also think my stitches are too tight. Which made the inner circles a little more oval-ish than circle-ish…. But J. doesn’t seem to mind, so I’m gonna just try to work myself out of not liking it. I have to finish the black and outer gold circle and add “UNITED STATES” at the top. Then I’m done. (But first, actually I have to go get some more gold… and red… because I don’t think I’ll have enough to finish… 😦 ).

~~~~~

For reading:

Here’s what I read in April.

I’m also reading:
* Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander) by Diana Galbadon
Story of a Soul: The Autobiography of St. Therese of Lisieux, Third Edition by St Therese of Lisieux
* Catechism

Finding time to read….
Usually in the mornings for a little while, until about 7:15-7:30, so the earlier I get up the more I get to read 😉
At nap time also known as: that time after lunch where my kids go upstairs and make noise and don’t actually sleep, but I get the downstairs to myself for a little while….. yes, I wish there was actual resting going on, but most days… nope.
Before bed, if I make it off the computer soon enough to get in some time before I fall asleep.
Little snatches here and there.
Oh. Super long doctors visits. Can’t tell you how many books I’ve made significant progress in while waiting at the doctors (this tip also applies when you’re getting your tires changed and/or looked at for the third time in two months…)

~Ruth Anne

 

Links may be Amazon Affiliates, thanks for Supporting HollowayFamilyNorth
3 thoughts on “Finding time {Yarn Along #3}

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

