Daybook {24 May}

IMG_3906

Outside my window…
Warmth!

I am praying….
For baby Felix // my little cousin Gabriel // my neighbor’s nephew, Jose, who suffered a brain aneurism over Christmas // safety of the family as we go about our daily life

I am thinking…. 

I am thankful….


For the warm weather!

I am wearing…. 

WIWS524-2

WIWS524-3 WIWS524

Veil
Sunglasses
Red Shirt
Black Skirt
(Black sandals – not visible)

Mass was outdoors today, otherwise I would not be wearing the sunglasses.
This my first time to link up with WIWS over at Fine Linen and Purple

I know many people in the link up post where they purchased their clothes, brand, etc… But… to be honest a good 90% of my clothes are thrifted, and I’m not a huge clothes shopper and don’t normally go for the Name Brand/Designer stuff. I do try to make an effort with what I have for Sundays, but it’s pretty simple. Just wanted to encourage others to do the same with what they have. 🙂

And, please do excuse my headless shot, my 5yo photographer couldn’t quite see the image on the phone screen, and was just a little distracted by squinting in the sunshine and being outdoors for Mass.

Edited to add:

Every year on Pentacost our parish does a bilingual combined outdoor service (in the parking lot). There’s always a cookout after, so it’s nice to see others who attend who you wouldn’t normally see. 

And the priest does the final blessing in Gaelic, which I think is so neat! 

I am creating….

yarn along 524-2

Almost done with the afghan!!!! Joining in with a new link up to finish up sewing/needlework projects for the summer. I’ve been working on this one for over two years now. And I’m ALMOST done!!!! Just the “UNITED STATES” at the top. (Here’s the link to the pattern, it was free when I first got it, you just have to contact the designer for it!)

And for upcoming projects…. I know that *one* project is actually started on the white thread above, a Thanksgiving potholder which has a turkey attached… I was supposed to finish it for Johnny last year, but obviously I forgot. Oops. So that’s on the list.

There are definitely others. But I’m quickly running out of time for this post, so I’ll catch them on the next round!

Oh, also if you could please PLEASE PLEASE, give me your comments/suggestions/advice for how to hang the afghan on the wall I would greatly appreciate it. I’ve never hung up anything this big:

yarn along 524

So… ideas. Please. Send them my way. Thank you in advance!

summerstitchingsaintaffairs6
Link to the link-up in the image! (Over at SaintAffairs)

Also linking with this week’s Yarn Along @ Simple Things

I am going….


No where for the next few days! Yay!

I am wondering….

What to do for schooling for Katherine this upcoming school year. Thinking about first grade. But still have to figure out what that will look like.

I am hoping….

All the things we’d like done on the house while we’re gone in July will be able to get done.
These include: Tile in the upstairs bathroom, refinishing the floors in the dining room, fixing the floor in the kitchen, installing dishwasher… and maybe redo the front porch?

I am learning….

How to let go of things. Stuff (see below) and things that annoy me.

Around the house….

Still working on decluttering. Have managed to get rid of two bags of excess boys clothes. Bits and pieces at a time. Am trying to make myself get rid of things that we don’t use or that don’t work, but some how or other have a sentimental attachment. Those are always the hardest.

In the kitchen….

Cookout tomorrow with the family that’s around
Tuesday – Rice, Beans and leftover meat
Wednesday – Roasted Chicken
Thursday – Steaks bought on discount, will probably let Jared decide how he’d like to fix them
Friday – ???
(actually that’s as far as I got in my menu for the week)

I am pondering

Music in Mass. I know some people don’t care for it. I however love music to be in Mass, so long as it’s at an appropriate place (but I don’t care to have a praise and worship service DURING the Mass time).

But, mostly just pondering how powerful music can be, especially when combined with the imagery of the Church!

A favorite quote….

A good parent prepares the child for the path, not the path for the child.

~ Jen Hatmaker (from this article)

I am reading….

Finishing up Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Then on to the other two library books, then on to the other two books that have going at this point in time. 🙂

One of my favorite things….

Flowers (irises)

A few plans for the week…. 

Cookout tomorrow, then nothing really for the rest of the week. Again, YAY!

A peek into one of my days….

zandtapemeasure

I always have plenty of help with my to-do list.
(This was to measure the bathroom for the tile)

~~~~~

~Ruth Anne

Linking up with The Simple Woman, Fine Linen and Purple, Saint Affairs (links throughout)
7 thoughts on “Daybook {24 May}

  1. Thank you so much for linking up – we’re glad to have you!

    Your skirt is fantastic – I love that length.

    I’m very guilty of forgetting to post my outfit details so no worries there! I love when people mix and match, and show us new ways to use what we already have! 🙂

  2. Wow! The afghan looks great! I have never hung anything that big on the wall before either, but maybe a quilt clamp would work. Thanks for joining the link-up! 🙂

  3. Stopping by from WIWS–your afghan is amazing! I’ve hung a quilt that’s almost as big. I used curtain rings clipped to it and then hung the curtain rings on picture hooks. Not sure that would work with something knitted or crocheted, though, since it would stretch out.

  4. I’ve never hung an afghan, but I do have a quilt that I hung by sewing a sleeve to the top of the backside, then putting a curtain rod (heavy-duty fancy one, of course!) through the sleeve and setting it in brackets on the wall. Love your afghan, btw, my eldest son served 8 years with the Marine Corps.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

