Washing the truck and Finding Joy

We’ve got a lovely tree… well actually, let me rephrase… The neighbors behind us have a tree that spreads primarily over our yard and driveway. It casts lots of shade so the garden has a hard time growing and it produces a good amount of pollen which covers the driveway (and the birds enjoy nesting in it so we have their droppings as well). Anywhos, it’s warm today and Jared got inspired to get his truck washed. So of course water + kids = a whole lotta fun!

The Blessed Is She Link-Up topic this week is: Finding Joy. And I’ve been thinking it over, trying to find the words I want to say. At first I thought that I’d just take a few pictures and call it a day, because thats usually what I do when I “find joy”. But then I realized that capturing joy (taking photos) and finding joy aren’t necessarily one and the same.

Well, it is but it isn’t. I’ve been doing a 365 Project  for close to six months now, and it’s been great. I’ve become a bit more aware of my weaknesses as a photographer, and I’ve been able to capture just those everyday moments with the kids and that’s been great (and I’ve also managed to fill my computer with roughly 7000 photos, but who’s counting?) But at the same time it’s also becoming routine. Dare I even say, mundane?

I’ve realized this week that I have to put some additional meaning behind those photographs for them to NOT become mundane. The Catechism of the Catholic Church states

The beauty of creation reflects the infinite beauty of the Creator…”
(341)

Likewise, truth carries with it the joy and splendor of spiritual beauty… But truth can also find other complementary forms of human expression, above all when it is a matter of evoking what is beyond words: the depths of the human heart, the exaltations of the soul, the mystery of God… “from the greatness and beauty of created things comes a corresponding perception of their Creator,”
(2500)

By remembering each time I take a picture that I’m in a sense taking a picture of God, how much more respect can I be giving to my Creator? How much more awe inspiring can that process be? How much more can God speak to me?

Everything then, down to the tiniest drop of water becomes something to find beauty in. It becomes a pathway for finding Joy in our Creator!

A blogging friend, Abbey @ Surviving Our Blessings, said this about an instagram photo project she was doing during Lent:

The important thing isn’t to do this one {project}. The important thing is to remind ourselves that God is always working, even in the most ordinary, mundane moments.

That is what I’m striving for when I take these thousands of photos. That’s what I was looking for today while my husband and kids joyfully washed the truck.

This is how I’m trying to Find Joy.

washing the car-17

…even when the baby isn’t happy to be left alone in yard while the others have fun in the driveway!

~~~~~


Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

5 thoughts on “Washing the truck and Finding Joy

  1. I love your distinction between capturing joy and finding joy, it really puts a different spin on things and makes you look for the interesting within the mundane. Watching children there is always joy to be found and seeing yours soaping down the truck under the tree must be a finding joy moment. Thank you for sharing with me on Country Kids.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

