a peak into a summer-like day {p,h,f,r}

 ~ Capturing the context of contentment in everyday life ~

{pretty}

pretty611-2

We finally have some blackberry blossoms. To be honest, I’m still surprised they keep coming back, since they’re in some pretty good shade. We don’t usually get a lot… well, maybe we do, but we usually eat them as soon as they’re even remotely dark, so I don’t actually know how many we get. 🙂

Our rose bushes have really taken off. They were wet today because of some “watering” by the kids. And I love some raindrops on roses…

Have I mentioned the story behind these roses? The one on the left was an anniversary gift I gave to Jared the first year we moved here. The other two photos are from a bush that was given to me by my grandparents for Mother’s Day (?) I think about three years ago.

Always makes me happy!

{happy}

happy611

Zachary got to go into the wading pool for the first time today. He. Was. Thrilled. This child LOVES bath time, so getting to be in water was just so much fun!

happy6112-3

(even the water dumped over his head by a “helpful” older brother didn’t really phase him)

happy6112-2

(taken immediately after the water dump)

{funny}

Not sure what the game was, but I totally love seeing their imagination at work – discarded tools from daddy’s truck, old flower hangers, ice cream scoops, sandbox toys and water equal so much fun and goofiness for them

I also really love seeing my boys together.

{real}

After a while they decided that the plants needed watering. I told them to go for it, especially because Someone… *cough* me *cough*…. is REALLY bad about getting them watered….

….So in order they watered: A Weed, A dead blueberry bush. Parsley

Of course that left “Mr. Chubs” with no in-pool entertainment

Until he found a leaf…

… at which point I decided that since the water was mostly gone at this point, it was just time to call it a day.

~~~~~

Linking with Like Mother, Like Daughter for {p,h,f,r} and Coombe Mills for Country Kids

Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall 

7 thoughts on “a peak into a summer-like day {p,h,f,r}

  1. Ruth Anne, I love your posts…especially the photos of your adorable children! Today’s reminded me of something my kids did about 35 years ago (!). When they were outside on a nice warm day my boys spent hours “painting” the house. I put water in sand pails and they “painted” using old (cheap) brushes. Of course they only reached the bottom few rows of siding, but each time it dried they “painted” it again! All these years later they still remember how much fun they had doing grown-up work! #makingmemories

  2. I’m not sure we have any blackberry flowers yet, a true sign that it is mid summer when they are out. I love all the water play from baths in the garden to the imaginative games and watering. Such simple times and great outdoor fun. Thank you for sharing such lovely photos on Country Kids.

    1. They seem late this year (the blackberries), but… everything has seemed late, I’m glad they’re here! It’s so interesting to watch their imagination take off and really see how they can turn something into a completely new game!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

