Answer Me This {summer #2}

Answer Me This summer

1. What’s the best thing about your dad?

His love of music, and artistic ability. The fact that he’s willing to sit there and take late night phone calls when I have a need to have a question answered RIGHTTHISVERYSECOND!!

Pretty much, I know if there is anything that I ever need, I just have to call him and he’ll be there to fix it.

~

2. If you’ve got kids, what’s the best thing about THEIR dad? (If you don’t, feel free to substitute your grandfather or another father figure.)

That he can walk into a meltdown home situation and take care of it without loosing his cool. Especially when mine is gone. 🙂

fathers day
This is the best we got this year. It was approximately 1329% humidity and no one had taken a nap, so we were all a bit on the grouchy.

~

3. What’s the best advice your dad ever gave you?

That my baby was a happy thing, and NOT the mistake (story of our pre-marriage pregnancy here).

He also taught me how to manage money, which {probably unintentionally} turned me into a money nazi…

4. What’s something you have in common with your dad?

This is something I’ve only come to figure out in the last few months, but we both really enjoy reading biographies and memoirs (of different types of people I’d say, but still in the same book genre)

fathers day-2
My dad, with my baby (eating cake before he’s one year, but I guess that’s a 4th child perk)
~

5. What’s the manliest thing you know how to do?

Um…. Nothing? Like I can’t change a tire, or mow the grass.
I can hang pictures and curtain rods… does that count?
Oh, I know, I can set up cribs and toddler beds, and move furniture around. 🙂

Or, there’s always the old standby:  I can manage money till you’re sick of me

~

6. Who is your favorite fictional dad?

I’ll be honest I’ve never really thought about a fiction dads. I’m usually paying attention to things from a mothers perspective… Since it’s super late for this post (Monday evening), and I’m having a hard time thinking up something right now, I’ll think on it this week and if I come up with something I’ll post real quick in next week’s answers.

~~~~~

Going to squeeze in my: summerstitchingsaintaffairs6

Post as well. I haven’t made tons of progress on things since my last update two weeks ago.

doily progress-2

I did manage to make the inner flower and the petals…

doily progress

This is how they’ll look once I get them on. I’m contemplating making another petal (even though it’s not part of the pattern) because it just doesn’t look quite right…. but I haven’t sewed it yet so I have until I get there to make that decision.

I also didn’t get the inner ruffle done (which will go around the “open” part and is a repeat of the outer ruffle). I had been hoping that maybe Katherine would like it without that ruffle (because there were so many stitches to put in that particular sequence), but nope. She said she wanted it to “look like the picture”…

Anyways, while I was getting around to asking her if she wanted that inner ruffle I started making a snowflake (on the same white thread). So I finished that up last night and will start in on the ruffle…. soon….

snowflake
snowflake

 

Linking with Kendra @ Catholic All Year and Erica @ Saint Affairs for the Stitching blast

3 thoughts on “Answer Me This {summer #2}

  1. I mentioned on Facebook how much I love the snowflake, but I also wanted to tell you that the doily looks great!
    Also, your dad’s response to your pregnancy was perfect. It was not the response I received when I found myself pregnant and four months away from my wedding date. However, my pregnancy was a happy event, and considering the infertility issues that have plagued us, I am thankful that it happened the way it did.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

