On not being super excited for this current pregnancy {WIWS}

WIWS104
WIWS: Comfy sweater that I now realize doesn’t exactly match the maternity “T” underneath. Beige pants that still fit! {And sandals and a veil, but this was after Mass and those things were long put away}. Photo in K’s room, yes, it actually is that pink. #Zphotobomb

There. I said it. I have not been super excited for this current pregnancy. I *thought* I would be excited, way back at the very, very, very beginning when I first found out we would be adding another baby, but then…. I don’t know. It seems to be taking longer than normal for the excitement to build up this time.

Maybe it’s because I had a teeny tiny bit of spotting that the doctors and nurses blew up into “worst case scenario” (an ectopic pregnancy)… which it turned out not to be thanks be to God. But those two times I spent at the ER, and the second time especially were so super stressful that I think it really put a damper on things.

It probably also didn’t help that I had friends who lost a baby at birth literally days before I found out I was pregnant.

I didn’t have a horrible time of my normal night-time “morning” sickness (it was there, but it wasn’t terrible). I did feel incredibly exhausted. Like, the go-to-bed-every-night-at-7:00PM kind of exhausted.

I know from past babies that it does take time to get used to the idea of another child. I know that was especially the case with Katherine. It took me all of those nine months to get used to the idea of a baby and I still don’t know how “ready” I was once she was born. Even with Zachary, I had people ask me if I was excited right after we found out, and I was like “Woah. Wait a minute. I just found out we’re having another baby. You gotta give me longer than a day to get used to that… THEN I’ll let you know if I’m excited”. But with him, it didn’t take weeks and weeks and weeks for that excitement to build.

I guess all this lack of excitement has me really not feeling connected to the baby just yet. Even with seeing baby move on the 8-week ultrasound scan (which I’ve never seen before)… And hearing the heart beat with the midwife saying “there’s a baby in there”… They were special moments, yes, but once they were gone so was the connection. Even the fact that all my regular clothes no longer fit hasn’t really made the fact sink in.

15+ weeks
15+ weeks (pretty obvious there’s a bump there!)

I have been feeling little tiny flutterings the last few weeks. Not many, but a few. And that has helped. I also happened to glance through some old photos on the instagram feed and seeing the newborn pictures of Zachary has helped too.

But… through all this, the few times I’ve gotten worked up and stressed out enough to pray about it I get an almost instant little reminder that this precious little soul has alreadyย been created by God. Already has a purpose. He (or she) isย already loved by God…. even if his mama is taking a little while to catch up. ๐Ÿ™‚ย God’s big enough to hold him (and me) and love him (and me) and care for him until I find myself ready to take my part.

~~~~~

Linking up with Fine Linen and Purple for WIWS

P.S. If you’re paying attention and reading closely, I know on Friday I stated I was 16 weeks… but I recounted and realized I arbitrarily added a week… so I’m really somewhere like 15 and a half. Baby’s still due at the end-ish of March, right after Jared’s birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

P.P.S. I don’t know if I’m having a boy… it just feels easier to refer to baby as a boy, since… you know that’s what we seem to be good at making ๐Ÿ˜‰

12 thoughts on “On not being super excited for this current pregnancy {WIWS}

  1. Ruth thank you for your honesty. Its sooooo beautiful! One reason i wasnt connecting w my last baby was bcuz i was so busy taking care of the first four. Identify?

  2. It may be that the earlier scare has made you subconsciously fearful of “attaching” to your baby. Don’t worry; it will come. Best wishes for the rest of your pregnancy.

  3. I always have trouble getting excited about something new. Even when I got engaged and when I was newly married, it took me so long to accept the reality of those situations that my excitement probably wasn’t what others experience. (Was I happy? Yes! Was I excited? Not exactly.) And I’ve found that for me, the excitement comes more slowly with each pregnancy – probably because I’m so busy with my other children that I don’t spend too much time thinking about the one to come. All that is to say, don’t stress about your lack of excitement. You’ll love your baby and you’ll be happy to have him (or her) with you. Excitement isn’t necessary. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Newborn pictures (even of other babies) helped me with this last pregnancy, too – I’m not one to get super-excited about pregnancies either, or even newborns really… It takes me a little while to feel that bond, but I found when this most recent baby was born I really appreciated the newborn stage more than I ever had before! Prayers for you and yours ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

