All about reading {7QT #27}

seven-quick-takes-friday-2

I have been meaning to write a “What I Read in ____________” post for, um, three months? Or at least two. So, quick version of what I’ve read “recently”

{Full disclaimer: I started this post a week ago…}

Linking with Kelly, etc.. for Quick Takes.

Before I start if I could just ask for prayers for my grandpa who is has begun his final journey here on earth. And also for my grandmother and peace for both of them. As well as for the family thats traveling to be with them during this time.

It seems there are many things to pray for this evening. A few family members live in France, a little outside of Paris, I haven’t heard anything from them one way or another.. continuing to pray for all.

And, on a slightly happier note, we’ll be finding out Baby #5’s gender tomorrow so if you want to guess, place them in the comments 🙂 Also prayers that all would be well are also appreciated.

Now, what I’ve read.

~1~
Outlander series… by Diana Galbadon

Dragonfly in Amber (book 2) and Voyager (book 3)

I mentioned in the last one of these posts I made that I really loved the Outlander book (first of the series). Probably not everyone’s cup of tea, but I’ve really enjoyed them so far. I am taking a little break from them for the moment because I can only read about two or three books of a series before I just need a change of pace. So I’ll probably pick the series back up in the new year.

~2~
Fluffy Summer Reads:

*Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos
I finished this book right at the beginning of July and I’m pretty sure my pregnancy brain erased any deep thoughts I had about this book (which may not have been there in the first place). But, needless, I enjoyed it. It’s a story about love (obviously), just not quite in the way you’d expect.

*The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan
I’m pretty sure this gets classified as “fan fiction”. And while I’m not normally one to jump onto the “All Things Royal Family” bandwagon (nothing against them, I’m just not crazy into it), this was a fun read. Kinda fairy tale-esque but not too-too sappy, which I tend to enjoy 🙂

~3~
Nonfiction:

*Teaching in Your Tiara by Rebecca Frech
I enjoyed this quick read about homeschooling. It’s set up in a super easy Q&A format and I think I finished in within two days. It would be really helpful for those considering homeschooling, but also it has a lot of great things for those that are already homeschooling…. like a way to refocus.

*The Nesting Place by Myquillyn Smith
I forget where I first heard about this book, but I’m glad I decided to pick it up. It’s all about making your home beautiful and being content, using especially those items you already have. It’s not quite a “how-to” but more of “here’s an idea” kind of book. It’s pretty much not overly religious, however she summarizes at the end with:
“The Lord is my Shepherd, I have everything I need.” (Ps 23:1)
This struck me as so powerful. I’ve always taken that verse to imply that we have everything we physically need to survive (food, clothes, etc..), but I had never really considered it as applying to the “extras”. I think in this book she really does a good job of saying the extras, while, no, not absolutely necessary to survival are, or can be, a way to make a home a happy place and ultimately point towards God.

~4~
Memoirs

For both of these books, it was pretty much the same thing for me. I really just love reading other people’s memoirs. I may get a few good quotes our of the book (My Life in France) or I may just be too absorbed in the story of their life to remember to write anything down (Something Other Than God). Either way, I really enjoy seeing life through other people’s eyes.

*My Life in France by Julia Child

*Something Other Than God by Jennifer Fulwiler
Side note story about this one: I brought the book home from the library and set it on the window sill (something “urgent” came up so I took care of  it). Katherine saw the book laying there a little while later and asked what it was called.. (I told her)…
She then replied: But, there’s nothing other than God.
Me:…..ummm… yeah…?

 ~5~
Love Rebel: Reclaiming Motherhood (Multiple authors) Edited by Roberta Cottam
This was a short little review book I read. And let me just say it was so great. It’s a collection of essays, stories and a few poems and felt like just being wrapped in a cozy blanket. It brought a feeling of camaraderie in a very gentle loving way. Very enjoyable.

~6~
Reread:


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
 by J.K. Rowling

I’ve been wanting to reread the series forever. But once I listened to this podcast by Fountains of Carrots I actually picked up the book and started reading. Plan to reread the series over the next few months!!

~7~
Didn’t care for:

* The Blue Bistro by Elin Hilderbrand
This was totally a fluffy summer read. And while there wasn’t anything totally wrong with it, I just didn’t really like it too much. Maybe its because I listened on audio book (which I’m finding doesn’t always work out well for me). Or, maybe it’s because an address was referenced for here in RI that was just completely off, which made me feel that not enough research was done, which made me start questioning the realistic-ness of other aspects of the book. Too picky? Maybe.
~
*
Rules of Civility by Amor Towles
I just didn’t get this book. I tried. But I just didn’t get it. I heard somewhere it’s probably best to read this with a book club to discuss all the stuff that comes up. But…. I read it on my own and just… nada.

 

~~~~~

One thought on “All about reading {7QT #27}

  1. Love a good book list! I’ve been on a memoir kick lately as well.

    I read The Nesting Place right after bringing one of our new babies home during the middle of the night feeds. It was such an encouragement during one of those times when you feel like the house is disintegrating around your ears and you don’t know where to start.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

