Book Review: The Day is Waiting

51yzYyX-YML

The Day is Waiting. Illustrated by Don Freeman, words by Linda Zuckerman. Appropriate for any age child.

“What do you see when you look outside?” What are you going to do with it? What are you going to do with this day that has been given to you? How will you spend it? Will you spend it outdoors exploring? Visiting new places? Experiencing new things?

The truth is, you could do any of these. Sometimes you have to actually get up and go, and some times it just takes a little imagination.

This picture book, illustrated by Don Freeman, creator of Corduroy, is full of these imaginative things that one could accomplish in any given day, if only we’d take the time to experience them. The words are simple. I believe that they’re telling us, though, to seize the opportunities presented in any given day, even if it’s something as simple as going out to smell the flowers.

The message I get from this book is to simply “be” in God’s creation and to enjoy it. Sometimes I think we’re all a bit too rushed to enjoy things as they’re presented, and this is a very calming, relaxing, beautiful book to remember to just stop sometimes and take a little break.

~~~~~
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

