A WIWS post

WIWS 2-28

Many thanks to Katherine for taking the photo. Apologies for the closed eyes… for some reason I thought it would be a better idea to stand looking into the sun. Oh well 🙂

The outfit details:
Shoes – back there behind me. It was warm out. I don’t like shoes, so they were off when we came home
{Total side note: I tend to take my WIWS photos after we get home from church, since it’s usually not rushed or anything, but I find that it often leaves me shoe-less}
Skirt – Super comfy long maternity skirt that doesn’t necessarily require tights
Top – Somewhat comfy maternity top. Purple for Lent!
Sweater – Non maternity, kinda too small, but still comfy and nice enough to wear to Mass
Belly: 36 weeks 3 days

There’s also a little necklace, and if you’re looking for technicalities I wore my hair in a pony tale and under a veil during Mass.

Also for reference, I have taken a few pictures over the last few weeks, but never blogged them, so here they are:

~~~

I know we’re already three weeks into Lent and all, and to be honest I don’t have a ton of thoughts to put out on the internet this year. I think I knew coming into this year that I wouldn’t be “doing” much. This is the first time I’ve been on this end of pregnancy for Lent and it’s come with a special sort of difficulty and much discomfort. So I’ve found myself trying to offer those things as my sacrifice this year. Taking the “easy” way out? Maybe. But this is what I can manage.

I also keep thinking about a song that was played during Advent: Almost There by Michael W Smith {link to youtube video}

The lyrics are:

Mary, full of innocence
Carrying the Holy prince
You’re almost there, you’re almost there
Mother of the Living Word
Trusting in the voice you heard
You’re almost there, you’re almost there

You’re almost where the angels see
Redemption’s plan unfolding
All hope is in the Son you’ll bear
You’re almost there

A lonely road, a willing heart
Pray for strength to do your part
You’re almost there, you’re almost there
Trust the Father to provide
Bread of heaven prophesied
You’re almost there, you’re almost there

You’re almost where the waiting ends
Delivering the life within
The answered prayer, Emmanuel
You’re almost there

You’re almost where the journey ends
Where death will die and life begins
The answered prayer, Emmanuel
You’re almost, almost there

Anyways, I’ve been thinking about this song a lot. And it’s been “real” in a sense to me because I’m nearing the end of my own pregnancy journey. Now, I’m not Mary and my baby isn’t Jesus, but the line especially Where death will die and life begins has been especially front and center because how much is birth like a kind of death? A passing from the womb into life. My due date is Holy Thursday, one day before Good Friday. One day before we “celebrate” the Ultimate death into life.

That’s been my “to think about” this season. And it’s not an easy one to forget about!

~~~~~

Linking up with Rosie at A Blog For My Mom

What I Wore Sunday

10 thoughts on “A WIWS post

  1. I’m VERY often not wearing shoes anymore when it comes time to take my picture 🙂 I do mine after Mass too, and I’m so used to automatically taking my shoes off the moment I get in the house!

    Can’t believe baby’s almost here! Looking forward to seeing pictures 🙂

  2. I love your meditation on being pregnant during this season! I remember being pregnant with my first during Advent, and feeling a special kinship to Our Lady (whom I have trouble forming devotion to) during that time – I think it’s really beautiful when our own lives can so profoundly reflect or be influenced by the liturgical year, and I’m sure your discomfort is a fitting Lenten sacrifice! 🙂

  3. Loved the lyrics of the song. Thanks for the pics too. I want to be praying for you in these last days of this pregnancy.

    Love, Grandma

  4. I can’t even imagine being ready in time to take a picture before Mass! Getting there on time is enough of a challenge 🙂 Congratulations on your new little one–praying that all goes well!

  5. I’m 38 and a half weeks along, and I didn’t give up much this year either for Lent. But I think that offering up a really uncomfortable and tiring pregnancy (my fourth and worst) and trying to complain just a little less, is a huge sacrifice and not at all the easy way out!

    Many blessings and hope all goes well!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

