Yarn Along and Tidbits

yarnalong

***

MakingLovely Tidbits-2

Found this Star Wars blanket on Pinterest. Decided to be ambitious and make it for Johny for his birthday at the end of September. Jared {only half joking} asked me which year I was planning to give it to him.

But, hey. One square almost done, so only twenty-three more to go. Plus joining. Plus the border…


Reading
:

Not lately, but thought I’d go back and try to at least jot down a {very} few thoughts for things I’ve read in the past few months. {These books I finished reading in April}

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Heart wrenching, haunting WWII novel. I enjoyed it.

In This House of Brede by Rummer Godden
First book to make me have actual tears running down my face in a long, LONG time!

The Search for Delicious by Natalie Babbit
Read aloud with the kids. I’ll be honest, at many parts in the is book I was like “where are we going…?” But, I kept on to the end. And oh my goodness. They get to the water, and it’s just beautiful and points towards Jesus as being what we most want and are seeking, even if we think we’re looking for something else.

The Martian by Andy Weir
Sometimes just need a good sci-fi book to read. I loved the writing style of the book, and that it was science-y while still being accessible to a lay scientist 🙂

~~~

{Other tidbits from the past week or so}

Cooking: Whatever I can scrounge up in the fridge. We’re still eating off the leftovers from the cookout we had on Saturday. Tomorrow we’re planning on a meal out with Jared’s brother, and I still have a package of pork chops in the freezer.

Really, the truth? I’m procrastinating going to the grocery store. I think I can make it till Thursday, or maybe even Friday… If only the kids didn’t need their milk in the mornings…

Wanting: Maybe one extra hour in the day to read the enormous amount of books I want to read? And another hour or two to tackle all the projects that I’d like to get to?

Loving: That Nicholas is sleeping 10-12 hours a night!!!!!!! And AirConditioners.

IG account you all should go enjoy:

My brother’s:. @mattiesandchezLovely Tidbits

I know, I know, I already shared it earlier this week (last week?) on Instagram, but…. he needs {another} older sister shoutout.

Thinking:

I came across this photo earlier today, and shared it on FB. It’s from my brother- and sister-in-law’s wedding last year

IMG_7575

One of my aunts commented

Su amor de esposos es el mejor regalo para sus hijos.

And, I don’t know why, maybe because it was in Spanish and I had to actually think hard about what it said so I could understand it, but it was just so special to see *that* comment on *this* picture because I forget it sometimes.
Translation: Your love between husband and wife is the best gift for your children {or something to that extent – I’m bad at translations}

Working On:

My pile of books.

2 thoughts on “Yarn Along and Tidbits

  1. In this House of Brede is a favourite of mine as well. I reread it recently. If you haven’t read it, recommend Kingfishers Catch Fire, set in Kashmir, one of the ‘classic’ cross cultural novels, somewhat autobiographical as she grew up in what is now Bangladesh (see ‘Two under the Indian Sun’) and lived in Kashmir for awhile. Rumer Godden also wrote some children’s books, some a bit dated now, but you can enjoy them even if a bit beyond the children.

    1. I saw somewhere recently a few of her children’s books, they’re on my “look into” list 🙂 And thank you for the other recommendation for her, I am interested in reading more of her works, but wasn’t quite sure where to start.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

