Tidbits from August

Making…


Still hooking away at that Star Wars blanket. I won’t finish in time for Johny’s birthday :(. But he’s still excited it’s for him :). Yes, I know, birthday presents are supposed to be a surprise, but we can’t seem to keep those secret ’round here.

Reading…

So many things. I was caught up on all my library holds, then I got four in the space of two days…

But, let’s see in August, I finished

  1. Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave. Thoroughly enjoyed. Loved the writing. WWII setting. 
  2. The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani. Kinda blah. Liked the beginning set in Italy, lots of detail, and then just felt so rushed during the second half of the book.
  3. Lab Girl by Hope Jaren. Science-y Memoir. Loved. Really, it’s not so sciency-y that you can’t understand, but,I found it totally fascinating. 
  4. Climbing the Mango Trees… by Madhur Jaffrey. Memoir. Again, kinda blah. It was somewhat interesting, but the story didn’t really go anywhere, so… meh…
  5. The awakening of miss prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera. Loved. Like. Ohmygoodness. Yes. I’d have to go review my pages of notes to get a good idea what to say, but this post is already getting longish. 
  6. The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom. Ok. Great book. But I think I got myself just a little bit too emotionally involved, which is nothing against the book, but I spent a few days in a really bad mood because I was upset at a lot of the situations in the story. (It touch a couple of triggers for me).
  7. Still Life by Louise Penny. Another good one. A murder mystery, but really about life. Wanting to continue the series. 

{And that should have just been it’s own blog post…}

Cooking…

Same old stuff it feels like. Made spaghetti and meatballs with my own pasta sauce (since I forgot to buy any at the store). Flavor was good, but texture was way off… oh well.

Anyone have any favorite recipes they want to send my way? Must be simple to make, not take a ton of time (bake for three hours is fine, spend two hours in the kitchen putting it together, not fine), and use everyday ingredients.:)

Looking forward to…

Well Read Mom for this year, my first year. Doing it on my own, any of my readers do this?

Next weekend…Jared and I are spending a few days away for our anniversary (almost managed to have Nicholas stay with my parents,but the child refuses a bottle/formula, so… he’ll be tagging along)

Loving…

Prisma app. Turns your photos into paintings. It’s been a fun one to play with. Kids have enjoyed it too! Wood love to try out the Brushstroke app, but don’t love the idea of $4.99…

Thinking…

Well, excited really, to have officially received our “homeschool letter of approval”

Now, more pondering how I’m going to actually implement it for the remainder of the year. 

Working On… 

Homeschool, reading, star wars blanket, life. 

3 thoughts on “Tidbits from August

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

