Five Minute Friday: Listen

I am wanting to maybe try a little more actual… you know… writing on the blog. So I decided to give this a try. It’s my first time doing it, although I’ve been seeing it around for years now. 

I did write this yesterday (Friday), but I wrote it in my journal with an actual pen. Never got a chance to get on the computer so, here we go….

LISTEN

I sit here, 7:08 AM. Listening. Relishing the quiet pitter patter of a slightly sick nearly 2 year old who’s been off and on awake all night… but still happy. I sit here listening to the birds tweeting through the window, which is letting in cool refreshing air. Not much longer now, it’ll be fall and that window will close.

Time keeps passing. It doesn’t stay still. Tomorrow he won’t be so sick. Tomorrow the window may be closed. Let me try to remain in this moment. Right here. Right now.

I am trying so much, maybe not to enjoy -that the toddler was sick in my bed all night-, but to appreciate these moments in life. Because I know they aren’t guaranteed to last. This time of life is but a moment and I’ll be honest, its hard.. really hard, I know when the kids get a little bit older it’ll be easier in a lot of ways, and I’m looking forward to that. But these are still beautiful moments right here. Right now. A toddler happily twittering and jabbering… Birds through a soon-to-be closed window. All available if I only just listen.

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Listen

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

