My Sunday Best {7?} // JEI {2}

My Sunday Best – mommy
My Sunday Best – Kat

You know those times you just show up at Mass? Those times where the mornings don’t quite go as planned? And there are moments of pure frustration? This was one of those mornings.

I kneeled down before we began and was definitely questioning the “why’s” of making the effort. When the processional started and I realized the words…

“Here I am to worship // here I am to bow down // here am I to say that you’re my God”

I felt like God had definitely made Himself heard (by me) loud and clear.

So…

Switching gears a little, I’m answering this week’s “Just Enough Info” questions…

What is your mom beverage of choice? 

Well…. If we’re talking alcoholic beverage (?) then I really don’t drink, so…. I’m leaving that one blank.

If we’re talking other beverage…

Coffee.

Hands Down.

If it was possible I would live off coffee. And it’s not the caffeine buzz that does it for me (I really don’t get much of a buzz) nor the popular mommy cliche “I’m so tired, I just need coffee to survive” (I’d rather just have the sleep thankyouverymuch) I just, really, REALLY, love coffee.

What do you do to relax? 

Read or Crochet. Listen to Podcasts. Drink Coffee.

When was the last time you got away with girlfriends or alone (and the grocery store does NOT count)?

Ummm….

Ummmmmmmm……

I went to Cape Cod with Jared for our anniversary a few weeks ago, but… we took Nicholas, so that’s not really “alone”.

Before that, I seriously have no idea.

One thing I did realize while we were at the Cape was that I was seriously exhausted. Not necessarily in a “need more actual sleep” kind of way, but of being hands on mom every minute of the day. Yes, having Nicholas there meant I was still doing mom stuff all the time, but it was just him. I don’t think I had realized just how much mental time and energy I had been spending doing all the mom stuff that needs doing. And what I took away from that is that I’m pretty sure I need to have some more built in away time.

I think awareness is the first step in correcting that, but beyond that I don’t know how to implement it. Because I think it goes beyond needing just a couple of hours to myself. I feel like I might need more like an entire day and logistically I don’t know how that’s supposed to work right now. I do have some ideas, but baby N. complicates it. Prayers?

~~~~~

Here’s the link up for this week’s JEI over at Sweeping Up Joy and for My Sunday Best at A Blog for My Mom

 

9 thoughts on “My Sunday Best {7?} // JEI {2}

  1. So tough! Like you said, identifying the need is the first step. Maybe it’s easier to start small? Going out to coffee with a friend? Prayers that things fall into place as you try to be more intentional about taking care of your kids’ mama. 🙂

  2. Prayers you get some time to yourself! For myself, a women’s retreat or conference has really helped me! I still bring my nursing baby, but there are other people to hold her, adult conversation, and the event feeds my soul and spirit.

  3. Ever since Nicholas was born I have been praying that the Lord will give you a respite, a season of rest for a couple of years before you have any more kids. Enjoy the present season. It will pass.I pray forJared to support you and be a good father.

    I have so many grandchildren to pray for that I often fail,but I want to support you in prayer.

    Much love, Grandma

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. So with you on the coffee! It’s just delicious.

    My personal theory is that “mommy brain”, having a hard time concentrating and doing mental things post-kids, is not really about the brain itself becoming less good at these things, but the result of stretching to, and beyond, capacity in its ability to multitask at every waking moment. It’s exhausting!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

