Garden Notes

Late September, my dad gifted me a gift card to a local garden shop (agriculture shop? I dunno, they sell things for the garden, chickens, hay, etc…) Anyways, Kat and I took off one Saturday a few weeks back to see what we could find. A few of my garden tools died last winter after being left out (funny thing, all that snow,Β ruining wooden handles and things…), so I was aiming to replace them.

Z. just goofing. (How could I not include it?)
Z. just goofing. (How could I not include it?)

We browsed and browsed (and browsed some more) and finally managed to come up with a few little tools and garden gloves for the kiddos (I briefly considered some for myself, but I realized I’d just be super frustrated with the bulk of them, and decided I’d just rather have my hands be dirty than not be able to work).

Anyways, I had also been really, really hoping they would have garlic. I have been wanting to buy garlic (for planting) for several years now, and just never seemed to get around to doing it at the right time. And then this year, I finally remembered, but then I was overwhelmed with the online selection. But, they had the garlic there at the store! Just a few heads left, so I bought them!

garden-notes-4

Homegrown garlic is probably one of my very favorite things to come out of the garden πŸ™‚

The little pamphlet I picked up mentioned that the soil should be nice and loose, etc….

Well.

This is the location I was wanting to plant.

garden-notes-10

Ok, so it was the other end of the box, but they used the entire box for the same purpose. And they’ve been using the entire box for the last four months or so.

And the dirt was SO trampled down.

So, I set my handy dandy helpers to work turning over the soil:

They tried to take turns with the tools. And LOVED their new gloves (Kat’s actually had a hole in them, which I’ve since fixed, but maybe that’s why she wasn’t thrilled?)

We ended up not doing the actual planting that day. So we came back to it a few days later:

There are still two more heads waiting to be planted. Don’t know why we didn’t just do all of them that day. But, maybe tomorrow?

The other garden-y thing I want to do is replant our Day Lilies. We have two plants that haven’t been touched in a few years and they’ve become quite dense. So, maybe I can manage to squeeze that in tomorrow as well? Here’s hoping.

Oh, and I guess it’s semi-garden related, but I’m meeting with our neighbor tomorrow about a tree overhanging our yard. The tree has a few problems (#understatementoftheyear). The major one being that *IF* it were to, say, fall or lose anymore branches (two have already fallen, just this summer) it would land on our yard. Now, fences and houses can be repaired, but I have little guys that would not be so easily repaired if it were to land on them. I have a quote to have it removed, but it’s quite high. So, hoping we can work with the owner to have something done so I can let the kids out back without being super afraid for them. Prayers?

tree

(Also, please let me know if the video doesn’t work)~~~Country Kids

9 thoughts on “Garden Notes

  1. Oh, planting garlic is exciting. It sounds pretty simple, good luck! I hope the chat with your neighbour about hat tree goes well (looks like it’s going to fall any minute!). #CountryKids

  2. It’s fab that you’re giving home grown garlic a try, I’ve never grown it deliberately but I often find myself off in search of wild garlic at the right times of years. It’s great that you had all your helpers digging away at the dirt to make it ready for the bulbs. The kids look like they love their new gardening tools.

    Thanks for linking up with me on #CountryKids.

  3. That first photo is amazing! I love how much your children help you with the gardening, it makes me want a proper garden so desperately – I can imagine how amazing home grown things are and how good gardening is for children! Good luck with the tree! #CountryKids

  4. I’ve never grown garlic, but I like the idea! It sounds like a good idea to get your kids involved as well in gardening – I bet they get much more excited about their veg (or garlic!) if they help grow them πŸ˜€ #countrykids

  5. We haven’t grown our own garlic, but we are hoping to grow some more herbs and things in our garden this year, we will have to give garlic a go! #CountryKids

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

