Library Haul

library-haul-title-photo

Apparently there’s a link up, where you list out your “library haul” for the week. I think I tried to do this a few years ago, but I never got past doing it the first time. I feel like I should be blogging something, but I’m not really sure what exactly, so books it is for the moment. {Also, I went looking for said linkup and couldn’t find an active one, so maybe they’re taking a break for the season? No matter, I’ll just do this on my own, I’m good with that.}

Note this is what I picked up last week. I figure, now that we’ve spent a week reading them, I could give my “yay” or “nay” for the book. Also to be noted, I stopped by the library again this afternoon while I was out running errands and picked up yet another pile. While checking out that pile, the librarian noticed the illustrations of one of the books which prompted me to confess that “yes, that’s the reason I have too many books”, to which he of course replied that “there’s no such thing”. I rephrased and said I just didn’t have enough bookshelves. Hence my weekly piles of books from the library 🙂

Anyways…

I should probably just be honest and say that I started this post a few weeks ago (you know, all the stuff above…) So now, I returned some of the pile today and am thinking it may be easier for my brain dumping to list the books I return.
Also, I noticed while going through the books, I’m not going to bother mentioning the ones I didn’t particularly like.
Oh, also, these posts (should I actually make more of them in the future) will probably be mostly kids books/picture books, so if that’s not your thing then feel free to pass.
Last thing, promise, I didn’t think to take many any pictures so this is straight up list for you all. Falls into the category of: not-what-you-expect from my blog. 🙂

A Turkey for Thanksgiving by Eve Bunting
Mr Moose goes looking for a turkey for thanksgiving. Cute.

Gracias, the Thanksgiving Turkey by Joy Cowley
An annual favorite. A boy is sent a gift of a turkey so he can fatten him up for thanksgiving… but… they end up friends (and being blessed by the priest after wandering into Mass).

Little Penguins by Cynthia Rylant
Super cute. And so totally relatable for mama’s of littles in the winter. All the things to get ready to go outdoors, just to be out for a few (pages) then back in to undress because it’s cold :). Lovely illustrations too.

Nancy la Elegante {Fancy Nancy in Spanish} by Jane O’Connor
Well, we’re big Fancy Nancy fans over here, Kat picked this one up a few weeks ago because she insisted she could read it….

The Lost House by B.B. Cronin
A seek-and-find type book. Grandpa has decided to take his grandkids out to the park, but first he needs to find a few things. Every page is a different color. And just a little ridiculous. But fun 🙂

Sarah Laughs by Jacqueline Jules
The story of Sarah from the Bible. Picked it up as part of our Jesse Tree in Picture Books that I’m attempting this year. (I’ve managed to collect about half of the books, but a few I didn’t get, yet, so yay library!) I really liked this story. It was very sweet.

Tricking the Tallyman by Jacqueline Davies
Picked up to read with this Advent morning time routine.{Side note about the routine: it’s set up for three weeks worth of very simple activities, so you could probably still get it now and use a good portion of it before Christmas}. Liked well enough, not super exciting, but it was good for telling about censuses. This particular one was about the census of 1790 here in the US.

The Nativity by Julie Vivas
I really liked this retelling of the Nativity Story. The text is basically a simplified retelling straight from the Bible, but the illustrations are great! (Also picked it up on the recommendation of the Advent morning time thing mentioned above.) This is my first experience with her work, and will definitely be keeping an eye out for more.

Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope 
This was a comic-book type book that someone picked up. I didn’t read it (personally, I can’t stand to read comic books out loud), but the kids enjoyed looking through it.

20161205_114907-2The disaster-zone that prompted me to have that earlier conversation with my librarian about maybe, just maybe we have “too many books”.

4 thoughts on “Library Haul

    1. Oh no worries here. I’d been thinking about doing it for a while (brain dump style), but only just got around to it because I really wanted to have some sort of record. And then I remembered one of you ladies had a linkup, but I hadn’t been following it too closely. So, really, it’s fine. I enjoyed doing it, so I think I’ll keep on doing it (and if there’s a link up… All the more fun!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

